Page 1 of 1

[TI ASM] Grayscale with Kingma's Package

Posted: Fri 18 Nov, 2005 9:57 pm
by nepmarauder
How do I make the grayscale graphics for my program.
Do you just use iStudio or Graphics Studio, set colors to 4 shades and save, or do I have to make layers by hand?

Posted: Fri 18 Nov, 2005 10:08 pm
by Jim e
No, Graphics studio will work, so will Istudio.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov, 2005 11:36 pm
by Liazon
is it the same for getting greyscale sprites? and using them with ionPutSprite?

Posted: Sat 19 Nov, 2005 2:57 am
by threefingeredguy
No, you have to use Duck's putSprite.

Posted: Sat 19 Nov, 2005 5:47 am
by Dwedit
The big rule about grayscale: Don't.

Posted: Sat 19 Nov, 2005 6:05 am
by threefingeredguy
Don't?

Don't what?

If its don't do it, I agree, it renders games unplayable on my calc because of bad LCD timing.

Posted: Sun 20 Nov, 2005 8:59 pm
by nepmarauder
I guess you guys are right.
It is a pain.

I was trying to add grayscale graphics to a simple ASM program I created for a high school Robotics project. The problem is that I use 'halt' loops between key detects, use for a security code access. If I am correct, those halts will also halt the grayscale routine, rendering the grayscale useless. I would have to go in and rewrite about have of the code to make it run. :)

Posted: Sun 20 Nov, 2005 11:38 pm
by kv83
The big rule about halt: Don't.

Posted: Mon 21 Nov, 2005 12:01 am
by nepmarauder
What should I use? The only other thing I now that you could use is loops...

Posted: Mon 21 Nov, 2005 12:19 am
by Jim e
Halts aren't a good method of timing, you should really only use them when You are intentionally trying to waste an undefined amount of time. :roll: For timed delays either setup a proper interrupt, a delay loop,or use the SE timers.

@dwedit: How dare condemn gray scale.....it's possible to get it looking good even when scrolling, You just have ignore the majority of the audience in terms of quality. :P

Posted: Mon 21 Nov, 2005 2:40 pm
by tr1p1ea
GrayScale is the best, and funnily enough my next project takes jim e's philosophy into account :).

nepmarauder: I recommend modify the grayscale interrupt routine so that it runs a counter or something that you can use as a delay.

Posted: Mon 21 Nov, 2005 5:32 pm
by Kalimero
I use halts everywhere I can. I find the power-saving that comes with it just too important to ignore. Of course if you're doing something special like sound or are doing something cpu intensive you might not have the room for a halt, but most programs have time to waste and don't care at all about accurate timing.

Posted: Mon 21 Nov, 2005 6:27 pm
by tr1p1ea
Im pretty sure he needs accurate timing though Kalimero.

Posted: Tue 22 Nov, 2005 1:11 am
by nepmarauder
Actually, I don't. I just need a delay between key presses for a security input. Without some sort of a delay, all five security variables would be filled be they same key. So I was using a halt loop to prevent the overlap.
As far as grayscale, it is not necessary for my program, but I would still like to figure it out to maybe implement it in the game that I have been working on forever now, "A Life of Crime". You can never find time to work on the projects you start.

Posted: Wed 23 Nov, 2005 3:03 pm
by Kozak
Ofcourse use halt!

ei
halt