Page 1 of 2

[TI ASM] Starting Help

Posted: Sat 17 Sep, 2005 5:52 pm
by Spooner
I am attempting to learn asm. I am using asm in 28 days and lost confused on the first day when it says. And save as hello.z80 in the source directory
to compile, open up DOS (try Start menu, Run, then whichever of command.com or cmd.exe works) and go to the TASM directory. Type asm hello and press Enter.

After a second or two (or more, depending on your computer's speed), assembly will finish, and the program is ready to be transmitted to the calculator.

I go into the c prompt thing but I am not sure how to get to the Tasm directory. I am not sure what to type in the slightest any help.

Edit kv83: Added Tag. Please use it in the future.

Posted: Sat 17 Sep, 2005 6:12 pm
by CoBB
First step to becoming a programmer: self-support.

http://www.google.com/search?client=ope ... 8&oe=utf-8

Posted: Sat 17 Sep, 2005 6:51 pm
by KevinJB
Ouch. Feeling harsh today? Why not just redirect him here?

cd c:\asm\tasm


Assuming you set it up as in 28 days. CoBB has a point though. Not that I'm one to point that out, but...

Oh, and Ionguru has a nice section on MS-DOS prompts.

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 6:25 pm
by blueskies
what i do is just keep a batch file in my project directory containing 'cmd.exe'. this opens the command prompt into the right directory. :)

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 6:40 pm
by KevinJB
I did it before; I'm trying to remember how now, but it's possible to modify the default path to c:\asm\tasm instead of c:\Documents and Settings\User .


Indeed, I found it. Rightclick the command prompt icon and select properties, then modify 'Start in / Start Path' to whatever you wish!

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 7:27 pm
by CoBB
Or just use Total Commander and write 'cmd' in the command line when you're in the right directory. Not that you need to do anything in the command prompt, since everything should be in batch files.

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 7:45 pm
by KevinJB
Unless of course the batch files aren't in the default directory, in which case...

*drumroll*

see my above post :)
It's just something I did to make compiling one step easer. Of course, when I'm making a big project that'll take more than 1 week, I'll probably just ask Leofox for the .bat file he made that only requires a click. Or make my own.

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 8:14 pm
by CoBB
When you start a bat from TC, the default path is the one it is located in. No tinkering needed at all.

Posted: Sun 18 Sep, 2005 8:28 pm
by DarkerLine

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2005 2:30 am
by CalcKing
Of course, some of us don't even bother with command lines or programs other than the editor for assembly. ;-)

I use ConTEXT with a modified version of the Z80 highlighter available for download, and specialized batch files. Basically, I just use one of four buttons:


F9 = Send to VTI
F10 = Assemble for Ion
F11 = Assemble for TI-83+ (Doesn't insert the #define statments)
F12 = Send to Calculator (Uses TISendTo.exe -- Part of TI Connect)

The batch files and key assignments automatically handle any directory you have a source file in, and use a single copy of tasm (tasm80.tab is copied and set attrib +h). I have thought about creating a resource describing exactly what I did to set this up. It would include my batch files and screen shots of the settings.

Anyone interested? :)

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2005 3:49 am
by lloydkirk1989
yep

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2005 3:35 pm
by threefingeredguy
Isnt Crimson editor good for that?

Posted: Thu 22 Sep, 2005 8:55 pm
by MissingIntellect
CalcKing wrote:Of course, some of us don't even bother with command lines or programs other than the editor for assembly. ;-)

I use ConTEXT with a modified version of the Z80 highlighter available for download, and specialized batch files. Basically, I just use one of four buttons:


F9 = Send to VTI
F10 = Assemble for Ion
F11 = Assemble for TI-83+ (Doesn't insert the #define statments)
F12 = Send to Calculator (Uses TISendTo.exe -- Part of TI Connect)

The batch files and key assignments automatically handle any directory you have a source file in, and use a single copy of tasm (tasm80.tab is copied and set attrib +h). I have thought about creating a resource describing exactly what I did to set this up. It would include my batch files and screen shots of the settings.

Anyone interested? :)
Yes, this would useful, especially for new programmers--I mean, how many questions are about the proper tools, etc. and about IDEs? 8)

Posted: Thu 22 Sep, 2005 9:38 pm
by CalcKing
Okay then, I will really try to whip something up. It doesn't look like I will have time tonight, but maybe tomorrow or saturday. :)

Posted: Sat 24 Sep, 2005 5:38 am
by CalcKing
Okay, I'm just about done. I'll either reply here or in Announce Your Projects when I am ready for testers. :)