Point and click game creator?

A General Discussion forum for TI calculators

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

AngelCyreneq

Point and click game creator?

Post by AngelCyreneq »

Hi, I'm a newbie here and [a sort of] newbie on calculators. I really like the games on this website and one day, like today, I want to be able to make a game of my own. I tried reading tuturals on coding and it seemed pretty complicated. Doe anyone know any game maker that is graphical, easy, not much programming needed, sort of like a "point and click" game creator.

I read about ARPG, but I have know idea where to find the game maker. If you can give me the link, that would be wonderful, thank you

Edit kv83: That was the worst subject ever created. :x
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by benryves »

To my knowledge, there aren't any... that aren't more complicated to use because they just don't work. :(
Have you ever done any programming before? QBASIC, VB, a bit of JavaScript or LOGO even?
It looks like you've done some research, at least, so you do appear to be able to make the effort (which is always a relief). Have you tried doing any programming on the calculator's TI BASIC editor? It's unlikely that you can do an awful lot with that (unless you're a superb BASIC programmer and employ all sorts of crazy tricks to squeeze out an awesome game) but it can teach some simple coding basics. Unfortunately, TI-BASIC is a pretty horrible language in itself and doesn't exactly help with good coding techniques.
Unfortunately, I've found that the best way to learn to code is with someone to take you through it. Books and documentation are usually more confusing than they need to be - it's a good idea if you can find someone to pester via IM (MSN/AIM/whatever) to take you through programming.
It's not really much help what I've said, I know, but programming isn't scary, really, if you can find the right source to learn from.
AngelCyreneq

Post by AngelCyreneq »