Ender's Game revived once more

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

Thanks man! I can post the physics engine right now- the AI I haven't even started writing, but if you can port it to assembly I will definitely make one. You can ignore the graphical stuff- here's the code:

Code: Select all

ClrDraw
Line(10,20,75,20      //This just draws a progress bar to show the progress
Line(10,22,75,22      //of the calculations, you can ignore this
Pt-On(9,21              //ignore
Pt-On(76,21            //ignore
dim([A])->L1ÂÂÂ
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

Hmmm, no reply?
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Ill see what i can do :).

EDIT - So it is always 10 and the mantissa is restricted to 4 places?
Last edited by tr1p1ea on Fri 17 Jun, 2005 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

What's the mantissa? Well, the physics engine only needs to read to four decimal places- the rest are for things like weapons, armor, etc.

EDIT- yeah, you just need to repeat that segment of code for each element of the matrix.
Last edited by dysfunction on Fri 17 Jun, 2005 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Well yeah the fractional part ... also what part of this do you want ported? Just:

Code: Select all

D-iPart(10fPart(W))+iPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(W))))->F 
C+iPart(10fPart(10fPart(W)))-iPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(W)))))->E
?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

This is what needs to be ported for now:

Code: Select all

For(D,2,dim([A])(1)-1
For(C,2,dim([A])(2)-1
If [A](D,C)!=35          //if the object scanned is not blank (i use tile 35 for
Then                         //emtpy space
[A](D,C)->W 
D-iPart(10fPart(W))+iPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(W))))->F
C+iPart(10fPart(10fPart(W)))-iPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(10fPart(W)))))->E
0->[A](D,C)
W->[A](F,E)
End
End
End 
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

What about the graphical stuff that is inside the for( loops?

Would it be possible for you to get on IRC so we can discuss this? Im on EfNet in #tcpa.

Just go to: http://chat.efnet.org ... type in your nick and when its connected type in:

/join #tcpa

:).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2324
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

I dunno if he'll ever go on #tcpa
Image Image Image Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Well instead of /join #tcpa you could just pm me with: /query tr1p1ea ?

I was just wondering about something if you move an element in the matrice to another position within the loop then it will be calculated again if it moves further down in the matrice than the current loop x,y ... do you get what i mean?

You would have to store the updated element in a temp matrice then copy it over after the loop or something?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

Hey you're right, I didn't think about that. Actually, maybe you should wait until I get that fixed. Oh, I know how I can do it- that's right, I could just have a temporary matrix. So when an object is moved, it gets put into the temporary matrix, until all the moving is finished, then the temp matrix overwrites the first matrix. Only problem is, that severely cuts down the amount of free RAM. I'm using a 32x24 matrix right now, and it takes nearly 7k, and I've got less than 5k free. I think a better way to do it would be to copy to three lists- one for element data, the other two for x and y coordinates within the matrix. That should compress it considerably, especially considering that most of a map in this game is going to be empty space. Also, I can make all non speed dependent programs (menus, etc) archived and run with Flash Gordon.
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

Guess what? New Screenshot! I had to go back a build yesterday and lost two days of work due to corruption, but that's okay- I was motivated by that to work even harder. May, I say, PTI rocks! I used it to take this screenie:


Image


Tr1p1ea, I am almost done with fixing the physics engine. I have made it so it stores to a temp list. The sad part about this is that it puts a limit on the total number of ships per map: but since I think this will be fifty or more, It's not really a problem. I don't know if it would be better for your assembly program to store the temporary data into a TI-OS list or an assembly array?
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2324
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

Wow awesome screenshot dys, I like the new title screen, which really fit in the game story/type. I also still like the old menu back from 2003 :)
Image Image Image Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Wow! That is sweet dysfunction!

Actually i probably could just store it to a temporary array then update the matrice when done. Ill give it a shot.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
merthsoft
Extreme Poster
Posts: 496
Joined: Tue 21 Dec, 2004 6:49 am
Location: WI

Post by merthsoft »

That looks great, what's PTI? And in the ingame menu (with the Resume, About, and what is probably Andrew's head) it looks like there's and issue with it "A" in GAME...
Shaun
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

PTI is PindurTI, CoBB's new emulator. It supports apps for 83+, contrast changing, and built-in animated screenshot taking.
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
Post Reply