NetHack

Got a brilliant program idea? Let us know!

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Snake

NetHack

Post by Snake »

I'm seriously addicted to this game :twisted: , and i'm seriously thinking of making a basic version of it (maybe i should learn asm... nethack doesnt need graphics! only speed! and seeing it this way make me think it may be more easy to do it in asm)

i'm a good basic programmer not the way Keven Ouelette is. :shock: .. (the reign of legend) but i had programmed a complete remake of resident evil (with basic graphics (use of the strings, make it fast!!) and i'm proud of it...)

anyway, you may think basic will not handle it?

A basic version of Nethack/Rogue would be great :)

Snake
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by kv83 »

Nethack, or Rogue (sp?) would be indeed doable in basic. It would be great aswell. The hard part is the random generation of the dungeon's, but other than that there shouldn't be any problems.

Actually I already had that idea on the previous froum, as reaction of a nethack version for 86 (?) ... anyway... Good luck, if you gonna do it! :D
Snake

Post by Snake »

thanks! i'm gonna need it!

and about dungeon random generation... i admit, i'm not too good with algorythms (hey! i'm just a secondary 5 student after all!) but i should be able of doing it, if you know someone who was thinking of making one, or if you get source of a a program like that, or if someone understand "C and C++" and if he could chek a little the real "nethack" it could be great!

it's a sure thing, i can make it in basic... but for the "fog" in the dungeon, the map discovering algorythm (you know what i'm talking about right?) i have no idea of what to do or where to begin... lol

i should chek if there is a commented version of the nethack code somewhere (or rogue, cause its less complicated!)

thx!
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by kv83 »