[TI ASM] Freak!

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Post Reply
chickendude
Extreme Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm

[TI ASM] Freak!

Post by chickendude »

Can anyone explain why when I compile:
.db "Doctor's fee. Pay $50",0,10

it compiles as "Doctor's fee. Pay $50" without the 0 and 10 appended? I can add any amount of numbers to the end and the program size won't change.

.db "Doctor's fee."
.db "Pay $50",0,10
works just fine.

.db "Tax refund. Collect $20",0,10 also works just fine.

TASM.
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Tasm is a bit psycho. Try Spasm or brass.
Image
Spencer
Extreme Poster
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon 17 Jan, 2005 8:56 am
Location: Indiana

Post by Spencer »

It has to do with the '.
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Yeah, I used a token when I did '.
Image
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

You have to just insert the ascii number for ' like so:

Code: Select all

 .db "Doctor",$27,"s fee. Pay $50",0,10
Perhaps that will help?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
chickendude
Extreme Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm

Post by chickendude »

Oh, wow, thanks!
User avatar
Saibot84
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: Jersey City, NJ

Post by Saibot84 »

while on the subject, isn't there a limit to how many bytes of data TASM can handle per .db statement?
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Saibot84 wrote:while on the subject, isn't there a limit to how many bytes of data TASM can handle per .db statement?
Yep. This, and the "...'..." bug were the driving force for Brass. ;)
chickendude
Extreme Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm

Post by chickendude »

That's what I thought the issue was, that I had too many characters. But as a result of this, I just downloaded Brass/Latenight and finally took the time to set it up for Monopoly :)
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Isn't the limit somewhere around 36?
Image
chickendude
Extreme Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm

Post by chickendude »

I don't know if it's mentioned here or not, ha.

Maximum number of labels 15000
Maximum length of labels 32 characters
Maximum address space 64 Kbytes (65536 bytes)
Maximum number of nested INCLUDES 4
Maximum length of TITLE string 79 characters
Maximum source line length 511 characters
Maximum length after macro expansion 511 characters
Maximum length of expressions 511 characters
Maximum length of pathnames 79 characters
Maximum length of command line 127 characters
Maximum number of instructions (per table) 1200
Maximum number of macros 1000
Maximum number of macro arguments 10
Maximum length of macro argument 16 characters
Memory requirements 512K
Post Reply