[PC C++] DirectX Help

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster

[PC C++] DirectX Help

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

I want to create a game for windows. As such, I have no real knowledge of DirectX. I want the engine to be entirely 2D based, so I want to use DirectDraw7. I have found some very nice tutorials for C++ Direct Draw handling using visual studio 6.0. I would like to know of two tutorials, if such things exist:

(1) How do you do menus, file opening and closing, and the common open and close file dialogs in C++? (I know how to do this in VB.NET, just not in this older language.)

(2) Are there good directDraw tutorials that will walk me through the basics of doing windowed graphics simply and effectively?

Thanks for any help. For the record, I am creating a GB emullator.

-thegamefreak

PS: Is there any reason the error messgaes in the forum (the no title one, for instance) are completely black?
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by kv83 »

Is there any reason the error messgaes in the forum (the no title one, for instance) are completely black?
Yes. A wrong css-file. We're to lazy to fix it.
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by benryves »

DirectDraw is long dead. These days, it's Direct3D that's used (yes, for 2D work as well).

If you're creating a GB emulator, I can't see that you'd want any 2D graphics library at all though - just the ability to get/set pixels. You can do this trivially and quickly in VB.NET by locking a Bitmap, creating an Int() array containing the RGB values, then using Marshal.Copy() to dump the data back over.

If you're convinced that DirectX is the way to go, Managed DirectX has the Sprite class and so on for 2D graphics (part of Direct3D).

Likewise, if you're hooked on using C++, you can use C++/CLI which will give you access to the familiar System.Windows.Forms for your interface.