MC AutoUpdate - Progress & Discussion
- kv83
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 2735
- Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
- Location: The Hague, Netherlands
- Contact:
MC AutoUpdate - Progress & Discussion
See for more info the main topic. This topic is used for progress updates and discussion
Yes, great idea
I'll write a few API update thingies for this when I get my hands on it.
I'll write a few API update thingies for this when I get my hands on it.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
-
- Calc Master
- Posts: 1110
- Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
- Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
- Contact:
I'm sorry, I have a couple nitpicks.
Also, you need a DTD for it to be valid, as well.
Otherwise, it looks like a great idea. I'll mess around a bit more later.
If you change that... it's no longer XML. XML is SUPPOSED to be case sensitive. Don't go changing your parser so it isn't!kv83 wrote:(All tags in xml are case-sensitve at the moment. Sorry! )
Also, you need a DTD for it to be valid, as well.
Otherwise, it looks like a great idea. I'll mess around a bit more later.
- benryves
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 3089
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: Croydon, England
- Contact:
Making the parser accept invalid XML doesn't make the XML file any less valid, it just makes the parser handle errors better. Would you rather have something that complained at you if someone made their XML file noncompliant, or would you rather have it handle it for you cleanly?AndySoft wrote:If you change that... it's no longer XML. XML is SUPPOSED to be case sensitive. Don't go changing your parser so it isn't!kv83 wrote:(All tags in xml are case-sensitve at the moment. Sorry! )
Accepting standards is fine, it's what something does when something isn't (and, let's face it, the vast majority of stuff isn't) standards-compliant that makes or breaks it.
-
- MCF Legend
- Posts: 1601
- Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
- Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
- Contact:
Yes to the first question. Browsers accepting malformed code all the way is why HTML is such a mess in the first place, I wouldn't call that 'clean'. It's a massive lesson to learn from. Besides, producing well-formed, compliant XML isn't hard at all, so why not do it properly from the beginning?benryves wrote:Would you rather have something that complained at you if someone made their XML file noncompliant, or would you rather have it handle it for you cleanly?
I wrote a script tonight to generate the server side XML file from a directory structure, which can save you a lot of time. Download:
http://timendus.student.utwente.nl/docs/dls/update.zip
Every directory in the same directory as the script will be seen as a seperate version. Each one of these directory names has to begin with "version" (or seven other characters) followed by a version number. If a changelog.txt file is present in the version directory it will be used as an update description for this update. Any other changelog.txt files in subdirectories will be ignored and every other file will be part of the update along with it's directory structure.
You'll have to make an application XML file yourself and point it to the update.php script on your server like so:
A hint: Don't upload WinXP's Thumbs.db because it will end up in the XML and the MC updater will not like it.
Feel free to ask if you have any questions.
http://timendus.student.utwente.nl/docs/dls/update.zip
Every directory in the same directory as the script will be seen as a seperate version. Each one of these directory names has to begin with "version" (or seven other characters) followed by a version number. If a changelog.txt file is present in the version directory it will be used as an update description for this update. Any other changelog.txt files in subdirectories will be ignored and every other file will be part of the update along with it's directory structure.
You'll have to make an application XML file yourself and point it to the update.php script on your server like so:
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<app>
<Title>Your program name</Title>
<Version>1.0</Version>
<URL>http://www.myserver.com/myaccount/update/update.php</URL>
</app>
Feel free to ask if you have any questions.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
- Jim e
- Calc King
- Posts: 2457
- Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
- Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
- Contact:
well, i tried to use the autoupdater for earlymorning, but it gave me an error.
The error said the proccess can't continue because it can't access earlymorning.xml.
The error said the proccess can't continue because it can't access earlymorning.xml.
Details wrote:See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86\Desktop\earlymorning.0.3.0.0\Data\earlymorning.xml' because it is being used by another process.
at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy)
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share)
at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Save(String filename)
at MC_AutoUpdate.App.set_Version(String value)
at MC_AutoUpdate.FRM_Main.Update_App(App CUR_App)
at MC_AutoUpdate.FRM_Main.BTN_Update_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
MC AutoUpdate
Assembly Version: 0.1.0.1
Win32 Version: 0.1.0.1
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86/Desktop/earlymorning.0.3.0.0/MC%20AutoUpdate.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.
For example:
<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>
When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
-
- Calc Master
- Posts: 1110
- Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
- Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
- Contact:
(Emphasis mine).Jim e wrote:Details wrote:See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86\Desktop\earlymorning.0.3.0.0\Data\earlymorning.xml' because it is being used by another process.
Sounds to me like either whatever you used to download the file still has it open, or something. I don't know, but that's something to look into.
- kv83
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 2735
- Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
- Location: The Hague, Netherlands
- Contact:
I have already an idea which it could be. I guess Jim tried to update from 0.3.0.0 to 0.3.0.2, therefor he has to change the .xml twice. First time to set it to 0.3.0.1 and the 2nd time to set it to 0.3.0.2. Only problem is that it doesn't close it propably the 1st time.
So in general it's the same what you're thinking, andysoft.
I'm feeling to sick to lock into it right now though
So in general it's the same what you're thinking, andysoft.
I'm feeling to sick to lock into it right now though