Using Greyscale for APPs
Moderator: Duck
- KermMartian
- Calc Wizard
- Posts: 549
- Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
- Contact:
I don't believe so. I think it should work for any shell, as long as it works with the writeback.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
- tr1p1ea
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 4141
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
- Contact:
Ducks sprite routines indeed use ion's ... but its an easy modification to make them shell independent. Jim e rewrote the sprite routines so that they are faster and smaller. You can check out his grayscale package here: http://www.revsoft.org/phpBB2/viewtopic ... 26&start=0
Really? I thought they were adaptations. But I haven't seen the GPP source for ages, guess I was mistakentr1p1ea wrote:Ducks sprite routines indeed use ion's ...
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
-
- Calc King
- Posts: 2195
- Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
- Location: sleeping
- Contact:
- tr1p1ea
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 4141
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
- Contact:
Jim e's is faster. His routine can mix the buffers and out in 73 cycles per byte iirc, Duck's is at 76. His sprite routines are faster/better as well. It also allows for more processing power for the application as the grayscale interrupt it syncronised (as best it can) with the lcd. This helps reduce flicker and enables grayscale at a much less tacing rate.
- thegamefreak0134
- Extreme Poster
- Posts: 455
- Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
- Location: In front of a Computer, coding
- Contact:
I did some pouring through the package ad noticed a couple of things. The only calls to ion routines in Ducks package are for the sprite routines. I have enough knowledge to write a sprite routine myself (and prolly should for the project) so I can live without his. That leaves the issue of not being able to use the interrupt routines too effectively.
One interesting note is that on all the calculators I tried it on, an interrupt frequency of 6 proved to not only be the fastest, but the best looking. Why the others are there baffles me...
What I need at this point is to get something simple, like a picture or something, up and running in ducks package. I will probably ask for help with the interrupt routine, as it uses a lot of jp and djnz commands and I don't know how to effectively handle these on code cpoying. If everything were relative jumps, I imagine the routine would work fine...
-gamefreak
PS: Does "Jim e" exist on these forums?
One interesting note is that on all the calculators I tried it on, an interrupt frequency of 6 proved to not only be the fastest, but the best looking. Why the others are there baffles me...
What I need at this point is to get something simple, like a picture or something, up and running in ducks package. I will probably ask for help with the interrupt routine, as it uses a lot of jp and djnz commands and I don't know how to effectively handle these on code cpoying. If everything were relative jumps, I imagine the routine would work fine...
-gamefreak
PS: Does "Jim e" exist on these forums?
-
- Calc King
- Posts: 2195
- Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
- Location: sleeping
- Contact:
- thegamefreak0134
- Extreme Poster
- Posts: 455
- Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
- Location: In front of a Computer, coding
- Contact:
-
- Calc King
- Posts: 2195
- Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
- Location: sleeping
- Contact:
Why, my signature points to the related website. This is more exact link.
- thegamefreak0134
- Extreme Poster
- Posts: 455
- Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
- Location: In front of a Computer, coding
- Contact:
Darn darn darn darn darn stupid school filters... DARN!
For some odd reason, I can't convince our nice network admin that free hosts are not bad. As such, I cannot get anywhere near the file for the package. Could I get someone to e-mail it to me? (thegamefreak0134@yahoo.com) Thanks!
For some odd reason, I can't convince our nice network admin that free hosts are not bad. As such, I cannot get anywhere near the file for the package. Could I get someone to e-mail it to me? (thegamefreak0134@yahoo.com) Thanks!
- kv83
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 2735
- Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
- Location: The Hague, Netherlands
- Contact:
place aLiazon wrote:now if only I can get it to compile in Latenite. Any help ben?
Code: Select all
#define TI83
- benryves
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 3089
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: Croydon, England
- Contact:
No, it's my fault. It also breaks compatibility with the API.kv83 wrote:place aLiazon wrote:now if only I can get it to compile in Latenite. Any help ben?at the top of your source file if you compile it for 83. GPP expects that, so it's not on ben's side. Duck made a batch file, which would include the define depending on which calculator you were writing for. If anybody would make a GrayScale template for LateNite, the problem would be away aswell I guess. ("#define TI83P" for a 83+ btw)Code: Select all
#define TI83
The next release of Latenite should come with a fixed Brass template which does away with this problem