Pokemon Purple

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tr1p1ea »

Progress has exploded on this project! All the pieces are falling together nicely :).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Image

This shows some of the fixes I have employed.

1) It no longer flashes and sits there, when it sees a list element is 0, it now just goes right to the next list element.
2) Prof Oak is no longer pushed up the front of his lab
3) It now recognizes going into doors.

I am not happy that it automatically kicks you up 1 space above the door from where you should start. I am working on a way to make it work correctly, but as of this moment, I do not have a solution. I also do not like the fact that Gary walks in, as he is supposed to be there when you show up, however... I don't want to make separate maps for the lab...
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

I promise, I have not been super lame for the last bit. Here is a screenshot to prove it!

Image

Working next on getting it to see the pokeballs...
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by benryves »

Good work! :D This event engine looks really cool. :)
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Thanks benryves. ^_^

I am so close on figuring out how I want to implement the pokeball stuff... Just dealing with all these instances is giving me a little bit of a pause. :S
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
DigiTan
Calc Master
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri 04 Mar, 2005 12:52 am
Location: NW Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by DigiTan »

Yo, what the? Those sprites are crazier than a tree full of monkeys! Excellent spriting! :D
My diet consists of nails, code-stealers, and HP fans.
Projects:

Robot War [TI-82, TI Flash App]
Sonic the Hedgehog [Multiplatform]
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

lol, thanks Digitan.

I am still working on getting something set up for choosing these blasted pokemon. This is a little more complex then I had originally thought... -_-
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

lol, wow, been a while since I have posted in this topic. Not much has gone on, ended up running into problems with it selecting pokemon, and realized at that time that I have neglected keeping track of variables and such, so I wrote out ALL the code (not the data, screw that <<) and am at this very moment going through it all, changing which variables do what (like 'F' is strictly used for For( loops) and clearing up code.
I have been going through some of this code.. and realized that for just the starter program alone I had left chunks of unneeded code from previous versions. XD oh wow, it annoys me.

Also, in the game now, instead of having

"0
prgmZRS

I am simplifying those to

prgmZC1

Mainly because I call on that function of RESOURCE so often. =/ I figured it up, it would take 7 times to call prgmZC1 to make it worth the effort. prgmPOKEMON calls it 4 times by itself. So yeah, more savings of RAM.

for the border display program, using Ans as a list to store the values, and immediately call the program, where it will store from Ans to the correct variables. Same thing with prgmZSP, for the values on where the sprites are to go.

It is interesting to see, just in two programs I have worked on, how much blue pen ink I have used correcting things. XD

I also took the liberty to create the version as it is now as 0.1.7a, as a placeholder to know how much RAM/ROM is being used up. At this time, between pics and prgms, the game takes 89,659 bytes. I am eager to see what the changes I make to the game affect the amount of space it uses.
posted from other places ^_^
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by kalan_vod »

Good things, I love to see more of this progress soon..
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

And something for the masses: Image

Currently, only the scrolling and page by page turning is working. I still need to add:

X -the ability to move an item
X -the ability to toss an item
X -the ability to use an item

Using an item won't happen until I get it to where you can have a pokemon to use one on. That will be somewhat difficult, as each item does different things. I will also need to devise a dynamic routine for all the TMs and HMs, since they will all essentially do the same, and make it easier, but if the pokemon knows 4 moves already, it will have to replace the selected move with the TM/HM.

Oh what fun.. I think I will work on moving an item and tossing an item to at least get those out of the way. =]
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by kalan_vod »

Nice work, I would suggest that you use a line of empty chars instead of clearing out each one.

Text(-1,Y,X," " etc..

Great to see you working on this, keep it up buddy!
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

oh hello there o.o

Nope, I haven't died, as I am sure some have thought. Still working little by little on this game, and have a little bit of progress to show for it. Well, not in screenshot form yet, but getting there.

I have taken the time to go through and add all the pokedex listings to the calc. I still need to take the time to put in the height and weight in there, but it isn't the most relevant thing on the planet or in the project.

I would like to post that I have been working on a way to make the NPCs move around the screen. So far that is going well, as they can now go to the right without too many problems. Working on the other directions right now.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Proof that I am not complete fail:

Image

They only move left and right, and only move if you are sitting still.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Image

4-way movement for NPCs are now implemented!

To do:

-Make NPCs recognize character as non-walkable
-Make NPCs not clear a trail in grassy areas
-Make it so you can talk to NPCs again ._.
User avatar
shmibs
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 19 Nov, 2009 12:33 am
Location: you have a cute head

Re: Purple

Post by shmibs »

awesome
Post Reply