Adventure Game with text input

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Would you play an adventure game where you have to type two word input?

yes
10
71%
no
4
29%
 
Total votes: 14

CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Adventure Game with text input

Post by CompWiz »

I'm working on adapting an old BASIC Adventure game skeleton for the calculator. It can accept two word input. Is there any interest for this, or is it too hard to type on the calculator? :?
You will only need to type two words, or even three letters of each word.
I will release the example game that was included in the book soon as a calculator BASIC program. (83/84 series)
Last edited by CompWiz on Fri 21 Oct, 2005 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

I like TBAs. No menus though, menus suck. Will this be graphical as well? It doesn't matter, TBAs rock when they are well done.
Image
necro
Calc King
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 2:45 am
Location: your shadow

Post by necro »

typing not so good...tabs
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

The adventure game in the book does not support pictures, but I could add them in after I get the first version working.
The typing shouldn't be too bad, as you only really have to type the first three letters of the two words you use.
Last edited by CompWiz on Fri 21 Oct, 2005 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
necro
Calc King
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 2:45 am
Location: your shadow

Post by necro »

what book?
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

How to Create Adventure Games by Christopher Lampton
copyright 1986
basically it is a book that leads you through creating an adventure game with explanations of each part, then gives you the code for the game they created and a skeleton so you can make one.
Last edited by CompWiz on Fri 21 Oct, 2005 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
necro
Calc King
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 2:45 am
Location: your shadow

Post by necro »

:o that is a loooooooong time ago...I wasn't even alive...
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

necro wrote::o that is a loooooooong time ago...I wasn't even alive...
same here.

:x stupid lack of subroutines(without using seperate programs) in ti Basic :x
Last edited by CompWiz on Fri 21 Oct, 2005 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

On www.unitedti.org there is a topic in Basic Programming about subroutines in basic. I think it is called "Basic Tricks" or somehting like that.
Image
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

thanks, I'll look more into that tomorrow


Progress:
So far I have the text input and storing of input working. I also have the location statements(tells you where you are) working, but I may have to alter them slightly. I am working currently on a program to output the contents of a string to the screen with line breaks only after spaces, and combining the statements that you would recieve to save screen space.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

Update: I finished the code for the program that will display the combined output from the game(this way it is not a new line for location, items, possible directions, etc..., and it saves screen space)

One problem: It doesn't run. :x I did throw it together fairly quickly, and it probably has a simple mistake somewhere. Also, it is exceedingly un-optimized(I want to optimize for size, as long as speed is reasonable)

The purpose of the program is to output to the screen the text in string1, while wrapping the text only on spaces, if possible. Also, it should be starting after whatever line was already on the display before this program was called. I would like to keep variable use to a minimum, if possible, as the rest of the program uses quite a few variables.

Here is the current code:

Code: Select all

Lbl A
If (length(Str1)<1)
Return
If (inString(Str1," ")=1)
Then
sub(Str1,2,length(Str1)-1)->Str1
Goto A
End
If (inString(Str1," ")>16)
Then
Disp sub(Str1,1,16)
sub(Str1,17,length(Str1)-16)->Str1
Goto A
End
If (length(Str1)<16)
Then
Disp Str1
Return
End
For(X,1,16)
If (inString(Str1," ",X)>16)
Then
Disp sub(Str1,1,inString(Str1," ",X-1))
sub(Str1,1,inString(Str1," ",X-1))->Str1
Goto A
End
End
If the code is not as self-explanitory as it seems it is to me, just say so, and I can make comments.
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
Spengo
Calc Master
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sat 15 Jan, 2005 3:56 am
Location: ooga booga land
Contact:

Post by Spengo »

*in answer to original question*

Yes, but it has to be really funny. :lol:
bananas... o.o
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

necro wrote:typing not so good...tabs
Are you implying that I misspelled TBAs? :no: , its TBA for Text Based Adventure.
Image
CompWiz
Calc King
Posts: 1950
Joined: Thu 13 Oct, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: UB

Post by CompWiz »

So, did anyone figure out why the code I posted doesn't work? It runs but it does not output the text in string1 with line wraps only on the spaces. It doesn't even output the entire string. Any ideas?
In Memory of the Maxcoderz Trophy Image
hart
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 26 Oct, 2005 8:06 pm

Post by hart »

CompWiz, your code is pretty inefficient, so use this code instead. It should work for most cases, and it is relatively small and fast. Just remember to give credit. Also tell me if you find any problems with it.
Last edited by hart on Thu 19 Jan, 2006 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply