Newbe help :S

A General Discussion forum for TI calculators

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

noteventime

Newbe help :S

Post by noteventime »

Hello,
Today i bought a TI-84+ SE (SE mostly for the name :p), I'm a TOTAL noob to these kind of calculators and this one was the one my school recommended (yeah i know, newer listen to others, but i haven't had any problems with it). So i thought I'll google for some fun apps and i was overwhelmed by the amount of software. Ok lets get to the point, most apps (mostly games) need something called mirageOS and i haven't really understood what it is (shell? to me thats the linux text console :p) does it in anyway change the OS or is it just an app, iv read its an flash app and i think understand the technical part (well the basics) but not what it means practically. Could this in any way FUBAR my calc? :S Probably those are all dumb questions and feel free to redirect to some good reading material.
crzyrbl
Calc Wizard

Post by crzyrbl »

mirage is just an app. you run the games from the app. that's pretty much it...
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Madskillz
Calc Wizard

Post by Madskillz »

First off, welcome to the community! I hope you stick around to see some of the great games that are being worked on. :wink:

Just a slight correction, sorry for being a stickler. Apps dont need mirageOS to operate, games do. I will explain everything in hopefully a very simple manner from here on out.

MirageOS, can be found here: http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fi ... 13949.html
Mirage is a Flash Application, meaning after it is sent to your calculator it is found by hitting the "APPS" button (the button with purple colored text).
Since you just got your calc, I know you will have a ton of applications or "Apps" so you will probably have to scroll through the huge list until you find a "App" titled MirageOS