32KB RAM on 84+SE???

Feel like posting Off Topic? Do it here.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

mnc2fan
Extreme Poster

32KB RAM on 84+SE???

Post by mnc2fan »

I was looking inside my 84+SE and I looked at the RAM chip and on it there are numbers 32.768K. I don't have a good enough camera to take a picture, but...

84+SEImage 83+SEImage

That might not even be the ram chip, but I think it might be. Don't know about the 83+SE but my 84+SE has those numbers on it, so does that mean that there is a way to expand the RAM. So anyone with the 83 or 84 SE can see what I'm talking about. :wink:
Jim e
Calc King

Post by Jim e »

That's the crystal timer, it runs at ~32.768khz. I'd take pictures of my calcs but I don't want to risk ESD just yet. :P

Edit: Also remember that SE have 128 k ram. And there is a good some of hardware that would prevent any ram expanision from being useful or easy.
mnc2fan
Extreme Poster

Post by mnc2fan »

Wow I'm still learning... :P :P. So what does the crystal timer do, does that have something to do with the cpu, or something else.
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by Dwedit »

The TI83+SE's ram is already upgraded, I think to 128k. It's just that nobody has used it yet.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
Jim e
Calc King

Post by Jim e »

WikiTi has a few answers.

They are seprate timers from the cpu clock, they can generate interrupts at almost any frequency. I use them for the greyscale and sound things I did. Or they can be used simply for timing, i've used them quite a bit recently to try crack some of the unkown ports.

Edit:
The TI83+SE's ram is already upgraded, I think to 128k. It's just that nobody has used it yet.
Omincalc used it for virtual calc and ram restore. Plus ti-os uses them for the usb.(that's what dan said anyway.)
DarkAuron
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by DarkAuron »