Calculator Linking in Pure BASIC

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Post Reply
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Calculator Linking in Pure BASIC

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

I thought it was possible to link between two random calculators using pure BASIC code (which I need to do for a project) and transfer data back and forth. The only way I have managed to get this to work is to have the user have to repeatedly push enter to get out of a pause. Is there some way to get the actual Send()/Get()/GetCalc() functions to work? I know at one time I had a method going where sending data on one would un-pause the other automatically, but I can't seem to get that to work again for some reason.

I am doing all of this testing between an 83+ and an 84+SE, which might have something to do with it. I can deal with the whole pause and un-pause thing, it's just a pain for the end user. Of course using an asm tool would make the thing work great, but for the purpose of this project (Alright, Alright, I'm writing tifreaks link routine for him, so I know how to interface with it) I would really like to not have to.

Thanks for any support.

-thegamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

I am not sure, but I think you can put it in a loop (while or repeat that checks for a value to change) and the other retrieve it? If all else fails, use Bell by Timendus :P
Krid
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 01 Feb, 2006 3:20 pm

Post by Krid »

kalan_vod wrote:I am not sure, but I think you can put it in a loop (while or repeat that checks for a value to change) and the other retrieve it? If all else fails, use Bell by Timendus :P
Speaking of Bell.. Could someone mirror it? Timendus' site seems to be down.

First post after being regged for over a year! :o

Edit: zOMG it's kalan! ;)
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

I'd try and contact Timendus. archive.org doesn't have a mirror.
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Krid wrote:
kalan_vod wrote:I am not sure, but I think you can put it in a loop (while or repeat that checks for a value to change) and the other retrieve it? If all else fails, use Bell by Timendus :P
Speaking of Bell.. Could someone mirror it? Timendus' site seems to be down.

First post after being regged for over a year! :o

Edit: zOMG it's kalan! ;)
Krid! Give me a shout out when you get a chance (pm or email kalan.rock@gmail.com). I wish I had the file with me, but I think I have it on my pc >.>
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

Bell looks really nice and all, but it's an asm library. Um, I don't mean to interrupt the off-topicness or anything, but *ahem* the title? It says BASIC in the title? :roll:

-gamefreak

PS: Still no luck, except when paused.
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

It is impossible, except when paused/idle. And its ofcourse the "sending" calculator which needs to be paused/idle.
How about using Omnicalc's LinkGet/Send?
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

<sigh...> OK fine then, random pressing of enter it is then. I should be able to send entire lists this way though, so I can just do it all in one go. If not, the user will be sitting and pressing enter for a really long time.

I think I might be able to get it to look like it's behaving normally, like the game would. I could simply have it do a data transfer during every one of the screens in-between, where you have to save and such. The "host" machine would be determined simply by the one that managed to get to the screen last. (The other calc would already be paused, so the GET operation would succeed.) It's workable, now that I think about it...

kk, time to try to code this thing then. Wish me luck!

-thegamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

This works on a TI83:

Left calc:
Lbl 0
GetCalc(A
Pause
Goto 0

Right calc:
Lbl 0
Pause
GetCalc(A
Goto 0

Run the program on the right calc first. Getcalc wakes up the other calc from Pause mode.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
crzyrbl
Calc Wizard
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: 3rd rock....

Post by crzyrbl »

I want to try that out now...
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

Aye, but on the newer models this does not happen. Which is a real bummer.

I've used this method in the past, that's how I know it should work. Problem is, if I need the routine to run between various machines, I will need to actually have it be portable across different machines...

I'll see if I can work something up, and I'll post back when I have errors.

-thegamefreak0134
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
Krid
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 01 Feb, 2006 3:20 pm

Post by Krid »

I actually wrote a somewhat decent full-BASIC multiplayer game. Sure, it was just a tag game, but it worked (AND it had bushes where you could hide!). I might as well upload that to ticalc.org, perhaps you'd be interested in seeing the source.

Edit: There, it's submitted :)
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

thegamefreak0134 wrote:Bell looks really nice and all, but it's an asm library. Um, I don't mean to interrupt the off-topicness or anything, but *ahem* the title? It says BASIC in the title? :roll:
I think they meant to point you towards the basic library thingy that I released that uses CLAP on the CLAP website.
http://clap.timendus.com

And thanks for noticing that my website was down; in fact my entire server had a major screwup some weeks ago (I host my own websites). But almost everything is back up and running now, including the CLAP and BELL websites.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
Post Reply