Pokemon Purple

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Floodkiller
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon 14 Nov, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Getting overwhelmed by everything
Contact:

Post by Floodkiller »

Seems like I passed over this...

Even though I have gotten bored and annoyed by the new pokemon stuff coming out, I still love the original Red and Blue. This seems like it will be great! I will be downloading it for sure when it comes out.
Main Projects:
Zombie Attack: 20%

Side Projects:
???-25%

Image

Staff member of Hikaru Rakuen Programming.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, it seems people are getting confused on the text program, about how it works and what not, so here is a deeper explanation of the text display program (prgmZTD):

The program loads a string to Str0, and then runs prgmZTD. prgmZTD then, as default, will display a character one at a time until it reaches a "/" symbol, and will skip that symbol, and go to the next line (X+6->X:4->Y I believe) It continues to do this until it reaches the "+" symbol. This symbol simply runs Repeat getKey:End and then erases the text. Pressing any key will leave the pause, reset where the text should start writing at, and then start writing again.

It quits the program when it sees the "*" symbol after that "+". You might say something about just having a loop go until it reaches Length(Str0, but because of adding the new system (Press a key while the text is displaying, and it will go to the second half of the program) I use my While loop idea, where it has a main loop, and sub-loops that it has to go through.


Now, when you press a key to speed up the text displaying like the original game boy version does, it goes to a spot where While W=4 I think. The first thing it does is search for the nearest instances of "/", "+", and "*" and starts comparing. It will then go through, and do line by line displaying, instead of character by character. It checks to see if the "/" symbol is closer to C than the "+" character is, and keeps checking until the "+" symbol is closer than the "/" symbol. It also keeps track of where the "*" symbol is, and if the variable storing the location of the "/" symbol equals 0, then it knows that there is a "*" at the end, and it will need to exit.

The program is fully dynamic in that regard... Would you like me to release a test program using that for you guys to look at and run the code through??
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

I got a scrolling menu system to... well... scroll!! :D

This is all in basic mind you...

Image

The program is located at:

http://www.tifreakware.net/tifreak8x/ABC.8xp

What do you think?
Last edited by tifreak8x on Sat 16 Dec, 2006 10:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Looking good, just a few bits to clean up.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Yeah, I am working on that right now, not having tons of luck though... :/


Edit:

Got it: Image

Edit: added arrows when scrolling:

ImageImage
Last edited by tifreak8x on Sat 16 Dec, 2006 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

Wow. I am thoughrally impressed. I never expected a BASIC program to look this good or be this functional. Keep up the good work!

-gamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Thank you. Once I figured out how I wanted to do it, the code for it was quite simple, and it is very dynamic.

How goes your port of pokemon??
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Slight bit of an update, I have gotten the program ready for the ability to select and option, I just have to decide how I want that part to work for pokemon. :)

I am getting ready to work on page by page scrolling, and will also add the arrows that go from side to side. I will hopefully have a new screenshot up by Thursday.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

And now for page by page scrolling. :)

There are numbers that appear on the bottom corner, these are to show that the selection part of the routine is ready to use. :)

Image
Last edited by tifreak8x on Sat 16 Dec, 2006 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
chickendude
Extreme Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm

Post by chickendude »

Yea, I was going to suggest page by page scrolling as going one by one down through all 150 or so pokemon might take a while!

I am getting very excited about this game :)
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, I know it has been a while, but here is an update:

Image

That is with the borders, I am working on the actual pokemon selection right now.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Borders are looking pretty nice, gotta select em all! err .... :).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

New update!

Image

Got it to select the images of pokemon, enjoy!
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

The only thing I could possibly see that needs work is the image display routine. I realize that you have to deal with compressed data here, but you still need to try and optimize the schnizzle out of that routine. Otherwise, you'll have to limit the images to pokedex mode only as the battle images will take to long to load. (even with saving them to PIC variables, you still have to load them once.)

Unless you can find some way to un-compress image data in the background as you walk, but don't expect to get too far with that idea in BASIC...

I have an older version of the image display routine. Could I have a look at the new one? I might just be able to speed it up some.

-thegamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, you are also looking at it on 83+ speeds... On the SE, it is a whole lot faster.

As to the code, I will have to try to find some time to type it up later. It has been severely optimized though, I honestly don't think it can be sped up. I have thought about adding an option in "options" to show the images or not.

But like I said, it is a lot faster on calc than it is on PTI.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
Post Reply