troubles setting everything up.
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
troubles setting everything up.
I managed to track down download links for the various parts of the IDE ('t would be nice if you guys had a consolidated page with links to everything.....)
anywho, downloaded it all, and extracted. However now they all give error messages resembling this (the icon and appname are different of course but its all the same style message--also, this is running WinXP pro with the .NET 2.0 Framework installed.)
anywho, downloaded it all, and extracted. However now they all give error messages resembling this (the icon and appname are different of course but its all the same style message--also, this is running WinXP pro with the .NET 2.0 Framework installed.)
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
- benryves
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 3089
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: Croydon, England
- Contact:
That icon in the top left reminds me of the dialogue you get when a Release build project throws an unhandled exception, but the icon is usually on the left and the program icon is not seen...
Where are you extracting the program to? Do you have full read/write access to its directory? (Try a subdirectory of My Documents - it stores project files in a subdirectory under the main executable, so will not run inside Program Files - this will be remedied).
Missing .NET runtimes just spew the usual missing DLL error message, so it does indeed look like .NET 2.0 is there - do other .NET 2.0 apps run?
Try this, if you will.
Go to the directory %windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727
(The version might be slightly different). Now, create a new file in Notepad, and paste in this code:Save it into that .NET folder you should have open, then open a command prompt and enter:
...where test.txt is the file you just made. It'll spit out an executable. If you run that executable, it should pop up a message box.
Where are you extracting the program to? Do you have full read/write access to its directory? (Try a subdirectory of My Documents - it stores project files in a subdirectory under the main executable, so will not run inside Program Files - this will be remedied).
Missing .NET runtimes just spew the usual missing DLL error message, so it does indeed look like .NET 2.0 is there - do other .NET 2.0 apps run?
Try this, if you will.
Go to the directory %windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727
(The version might be slightly different). Now, create a new file in Notepad, and paste in this code:
Code: Select all
using System;
using System.Windows.Forms;
public class Test {
public static void Main() {
MessageBox.Show("It lives!");
}
}
Code: Select all
csc test.txt
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
you version numbering was correct. the code compiled fine, however when run it showed a cmd window briefly before popping up with the error message show earlier. Also i just remembered i have .net based autoupdater for another game that also shows this message.
[edit]
i am installing it to c:\program files\latenite, however i am an administrator on the computer and have write access. also, the other autoupdater mentioned above is in a subdirectory of my documents and experiences the same issue.
[edit]
i am installing it to c:\program files\latenite, however i am an administrator on the computer and have write access. also, the other autoupdater mentioned above is in a subdirectory of my documents and experiences the same issue.
- benryves
- Maxcoderz Staff
- Posts: 3089
- Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
- Location: Croydon, England
- Contact:
Sounds like your .NET installation is buggered, then. There's not much scope for bugs in that snippet I posted.
Here's the redist version of 2.0 - you could try reinstalling it.
Beta versions of the .NET framework can break things, but given that your version number matches mine it shouldn't be a problem.
Here's the redist version of 2.0 - you could try reinstalling it.
Beta versions of the .NET framework can break things, but given that your version number matches mine it shouldn't be a problem.
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
yes, SP2...alright, I guess thats what Ill have to do.benryves wrote:You said XP Pro - I assume that's XP Pro SP2?elfprince13 wrote:I did the repair installation however it seems that the problem still exists
I can only suggest uninstalling .NET 2.0 runtimes completely, rebooting, then doing a full reinstall.
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact:
- elfprince13
- Sir Posts-A-Lot
- Posts: 234
- Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
- Contact: