Donut Quest

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Post Reply
DarkerLine
Calc Wizard
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 1:37 am
Location: who wants to know?
Contact:

Donut Quest

Post by DarkerLine »

Recently (specifically, during yesterday's morning midterm) I got up the courage to look over the code for Donut Quest with the potential plan for making a new version. When I found a rather magnificent size optimization in the level structure (I cut the program size down by 20% or about 800 bytes), and found a feature of the game I previously didn't know existed, that plan became a reality.

Probably a good idea to describe the original Donut Quest game, although I've provided a link. It's a puzzle game in which the goal is to collect all the donuts, then walk off the screen; it uses pure Basic and text sprites - click the link for a screenshot.

It's (still) the plan to make a new version of Donut Quest that allows external level sets. Technically speaking, this is about 90% done already, but I'd also like to make up some new levels to demonstrate some of the things you could do, as well as to give people an incentive to download the new version.

I'd also like to find out if Donut Quest is TI-83 (plain) compatible. I consciously avoided any potentially problematic areas (such as large graph text and use of the archive), but all that may be undone if I find out that some of the characters I use (and really can't do without) don't exist on the TI-83. The link only contains the .8xp version, so the only ways I see of testing it on the 83 plain are trying to send it to the calculator anyway, sending it from an 83+ to an 83, or me getting an 83 calculator from somewhere (pretty unlikely).

Finally, I'd put in additional features if I knew what the game lacked. Please make suggestions so I can improve the game!
just try to be nice to people.
_________________
My TI Blog - http://mpl.unitedti.org/
CoBB
MCF Legend
Posts: 1601
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
Contact:

Post by CoBB »

It seems to work properly on the 83.
DarkerLine
Calc Wizard
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 1:37 am
Location: who wants to know?
Contact:

Post by DarkerLine »

Thanks, that helps. Is the speed ok on the 83?
just try to be nice to people.
_________________
My TI Blog - http://mpl.unitedti.org/
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

DarkerLine wrote:Thanks, that helps. Is the speed ok on the 83?
The same as the 83 +, which is good.
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

THOSE are text sprites? They are fantastic! Better than many actual sprites!
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

threefingeredguy wrote:THOSE are text sprites? They are fantastic! Better than many actual sprites!
Correct me if I am wrong, but hey draws text on the graph screen, stores in a pic, draws next char. and recalls pic then stores it.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

I don't know about that, but you can read about it here: http://tifreakware.calcgames.org/nolib.htm

(This was done with permission...)
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
DarkerLine
Calc Wizard
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 1:37 am
Location: who wants to know?
Contact:

Post by DarkerLine »

kalan_vod wrote:Correct me if I am wrong, but hey draws text on the graph screen, stores in a pic, draws next char. and recalls pic then stores it.
Not quite. I draw each new letter of a six-letter sequence one pixel over, so only the first column of the letter ends up displayed.
just try to be nice to people.
_________________
My TI Blog - http://mpl.unitedti.org/
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

DarkerLine wrote:
kalan_vod wrote:Correct me if I am wrong, but hey draws text on the graph screen, stores in a pic, draws next char. and recalls pic then stores it.
Not quite. I draw each new letter of a six-letter sequence one pixel over, so only the first column of the letter ends up displayed.
I forgot to add that, but I have seen you post the info for howto before.
User avatar
elfprince13
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Contact:

Post by elfprince13 »

tifreak8x wrote:I don't know about that, but you can read about it here: http://tifreakware.calcgames.org/nolib.htm

(This was done with permission...)
instead of displaying a whole string at a time, you move each character over by one pixel, and then delete the last 2 columns on each row with a white Line command
Post Reply