wabbitcode/studio basics

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by King Harold »

I always manually edit my debug script to debug the app in PindurTI, there is probably a way to automate the automation but I haven't found it (but I'm an idiot so it's probably possible anyway)
Don't know about wabbitemu, I've gotten it to run but I have never tried to debug anything with it..
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

tr1p1ea,

Can you post the versions and/or downloads for the software you have? Is it latenite+brass+pindurTI? Also, what are your project settings. Thanks.
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Harold,
I have selected "TI-83 Plus (Native)" for the build type and likewise, I edited the file under \Build called "TI-83 Plus (Native).cmd"

I made it this, just like yours.
@ECHO OFF
SET PLATFORM=ti8x
SET SHELL=none
SET EXTENSION=hex
BUILD\COMPILE

I get all the build files (.8xk, .8xp, .txt, .hex). But PindurTI finds it to have unknown file type. Do you see this error too when you run my code?

Code: Select all

.variablename "BGHN"
.inclabels "ti8x.lbl" 
.defpage 0, 16*1024, $4000 ; Page 0 definition
.export

.page 0 ; Start page 0
; ← header is added in here for us
main
EXT_APP = 1 ; I'm not really sure what this does but whatever
.block 128 ; space for the header

	bcall(_clrLCDFull)	
	xor a ; Reset the -
	ld (curCol),a ; cursor column and the -
	ld (curRow),a ; cursor row.

	ld hl,TextString ; Copy from...
	ld de,saveSScreen ; Copy to...

Test:
	ld a,(hl) ; Copy the string to RAM
	ld (de),a
	inc hl
	inc de
	or a
	jr nz,Test

	ld hl,saveSScreen
	bcall(_putS) ; Display the string

	bcall(_getKey) ; Wait for a key

EndApp:
	bjump(_JForceCmdNoChar) ; Exit

TextString
	.db "This simple app."
	.db "just displays a "
	.db "bit of text on "
	.db "your calculator "
	.db "screen.",0

puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Btw, thanks for your help harold, one other question. Exactly how is your pindurTi getting launched? Does latenight start it? or are you starting it yourself by executing PindurTIDebugger.exe?

Thanks.
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Ok, i am left with just a problem now with getting the breakpoint info from Latenite to the pindurTI. The debug file is getting set in DEBUG_DEBUGGER_ARGS, just not sure where this variable gets used or if it is getting used. The breakpoints window in PindurTI is empty, I have even tried manually loading the "Debug Information" and selecting the debug.xml from under compile directory.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by King Harold »

What about the debug script? Does it looks something like this?

Code: Select all

; TI-83 Plus native script
reset-calc
run 6000000
key-press on 6000000
send-file "%PROJECT_DIR%\Bin\[some name here].8xk"
key-press clear
key-press 2nd
key-press 0
key-press apps
key-press apps
key-press apps
key-press 2
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Your script and my script are both sending passing the 8xk file. Using yours the breakpoints still don't get passed. I'll keep looking into this. There must be a fine point that I am missing. I'll research pindurTI's input arguments to see where my debug.xml might be going wrong. It is a big file so this might be a task.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by King Harold »

That would be odd - at least, I don't remember editing it
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

So, my assumption was that breakpoint info was passed through the debug.xml file. Not so, winmerge shows identical files between compiling with no breakpoints and then with a few.
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Harold, what version of latenite do you have installed. I have had 1.0.6.0, then moments ago I found 1.0.6.1. Now, with 1.6.0.1, I get no breakpoint toggle option under "Debug" menu.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by King Harold »

I'm using 1.0.6.1
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

I am wondering why the breakpoint menu items are missing all together now. What are the items under "Debug" tool bar menu for you?
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by King Harold »

Start debugging, Break all, Stop debugging
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

Sorry if this is an obvious question, but how do you set breakpoints in this version, they were in that menu in 1.0.6.0? Thanks btw, for all your support here. I'll give you 5's on all your posts over at cp for like a year or something as repayment ;-)
puromtec
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri 07 May, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: wabbitcode/studio basics

Post by puromtec »

ahhh...got it, (from searching the site with google's site: command)
Discussed here...(pasted for future readers)
http://www.junemann.nl/maxcoderz/viewto ... &start=315

jeez, it is also in the z80 help file too, I feel like an idiot...
Post Reply