Pokemon Purple

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

TM/HM lists completed to the calc.

Also fired the game up, and started playing, to catch any bugs in it before they crop up anywhere else. So far, found:

I need to perfect the save/load feature. They only work half the time.

The Text Display system is updated, the strings for input are not.

Sign on the route north of pallet fails

ingame menu border does not refresh if the border was changed


Workin on these before going on..
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, due to problems with the boards for a while, I was unable to update y'all.

I have gotten stat generation to fully work now, which is totally sweet.

I revamped alot of the data, like sprites and names. This caused a rewrite of how the system works for the pokedex. :) Here is a screenshot of the new system:

Image

What do you think?
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by benryves »

Looking good to me. :)
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Image vs Image

Think it looks faster?

What I have done is removed all the error checking for the displayer, as that should all be done through the getkey loop and detection, etc. I also added a While command in to right before the displaying of just the names, so it would go to that instead of redrawing the other few parts each time it moved. I had not realized it was doing that before hand... <.<
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by benryves »

Yes, that does look noticably faster. :) Good work!
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Thanks benryves. :)

Edit:
BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I am so awesome. Or at least, I think I am. I might not be. *shrugs*

Anyways, here be important stuff for you all. I have gotten random encounters to 100% !!!!!!1111oneeleven You have no idea how happy I am to have that done and over with, after pitting myself against it for over 2 hours today. But, enough babbling. You want a screenshot, I am sure...

Image
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

Wow, this is coming along nicely. Seems like you're going to have the skeleton for the battle system up within the game soon. I'll be hard pressed to catch up. ;-)

-gamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

What battle system? :roll: Oh! You mean this:

Image :D

Of course, I am just using the enemy data to populate the screen and information right now. The next thing to do is begin with the events system, so you can even get your first pokemon to start battling. But it is still progress. ^_^

Image Is the way it looked on the gameboy game. :D
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

Yes, that indeed. I'm going to do something similar, but the only major difference is that I'll use greyscale for the HP bars (makes them slightly easier to read) and the, I dunno, "arrow line things" pointing at the creature that the info is referencing, that's going to be just a single pixel wide. That's because I'm slightly crunched for space, as the images I'll be using for the "back" view are a bit taller than the front ones, so I needed the enemy data to be shorter.

But that's a minor difference there. Overall, this is a good representation of the original battle screen, definitely.

Oh, how are you doing the battle start animation? I wasn't aware that a BASIC program could alter the contrast, so are you using some other trick? (my guess would be a black Pic on the graph screen and a quick switch back and forth, but I'm not sure.)

-gamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

You are correct. I bounce between a black pic and the homescreen a few times. It is not the cleanest thing, but it does work. :)
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Yay, benryves is too cool for us, WE ARE NOT WORTHY!

Image

:)

He created the asm program to make this work faster, and even added sprite reversing... totally cool :D

Edit: Oh yes, not sure if I offered this before, I have pokemon 3 - 151 in uncompressed hex format from the icon sprites. You are more than welcome to them, at least to get you started and such. Just let me know. :)
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, the events system has begun!! :D

Image

What do you think for that as a start?
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by kalan_vod »

Im ready for the pokedex running with the new asm utility XD
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

O_o

I totally forgot I needed to update the pokedex!

I guess that would not take very long to do, I shall see about doing that this evening. :)
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Pokemon Purple

Post by tifreak8x »

Image Image

This is the new Event engine, it uses lists to tell the NPC and Char where to go. I could totally make the game out of just this... just let the players suffer through it playing all by itself... BWHAHAHAhahaha... *cough-hack*

Anyways..

These show that you can enter either of the two * and still make it to the door. I still have a couple things to add. Like 1, make it so that you don't force Prof. Oak up the front of his lab, and 2, see about adding in the door/stair detection at the end of the loop, so that it actually will see it.
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
Post Reply