Latenite - 1.0.6.1 Update [Monday 20/08/2007]

One suite to code them all. An complete IDE and assembler for all your z80 projects!

Moderators: benryves, kv83

Post Reply
CoBB
MCF Legend
Posts: 1601
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
Contact:

Post by CoBB »

tr1p1ea wrote:For developing programs that dont need super accurate timings, dont use flash and dont have to use certain ports, VTI is ok.
When writing my first 83 game (Traz) as a TI newbie, I wanted to use direct LCD write commands to update only the changing parts, i. e. the ball and possibly the brick it just hit. However, I didn't know about the delay needed... It worked beautifully on VTI, but it garbled the screen on the real calc in a shape that reminded of the ball's trajectory. That was a nice 'bug' to hunt down. I ended up using _GRBUFCPY_V. :P
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Lack of breakpoints is my problem, sorry (still in development). Brass will export breakpoint information, the current (rubbish) PTI front-end which comes with Latenite doesn't do anything with them.
The screenshot I posted of the new debugger front-end will (and does) support breakpoints. I need to add the on-screen keypad and variables watch window though.
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

That's all I ask (for now) :D

Edit: Never mind :x
I was wondering if you could make it so that when you double click on a *.lnp file it will run LateNite, like opening a *.doc file by double clicking it
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

silver calc wrote:That's all I ask (for now) :D

Edit: Never mind :x
I was wondering if you could make it so that when you double click on a *.lnp file it will run LateNite, like opening a *.doc file by double clicking it
You have to manually link the file to the prog with windows.
Image
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

How? If I set it so that *.lnp files will run LateNite, it gives me an error
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

What gives you the error, Windows or Latenite?

Just double-click an LNP - Windows will not know which application to run. Browse to the Latenite EXE, and it should work (certainly works for me).
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

Here's what I did (2 ways):

1st way
1.go to folder options (file types)
2.add .lnp, and changed the icon
3.click on open with... (the change botton)
4.find LateNite...
5.select enter
for some reason, it always gives me wordpad as what it opens *.lnp files with

2nd way
1.go to folder options (file types)
2. add .lnp
3.click on advanced
4. change icon
5. add new action: open (or run)
6. set application to LateNite
This way always gives an error: could not open 'Z:\LateNite'
LateNite is located in 'Z:\Latenite Z80 Editor\', so this isn't correct
It also gives an object reference error, asking if I want to debug LateNite.
LateNite continues to open itself, but doesn't give you beginning menu (where you choose to create a new project or open an existing one)
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

In the second attemt you described, try to put the path to Latenite in quotes. As in "Z:\Latenite Z80 Editor\Latenite.exe". That should solve the error I guess.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
blueskies
Calc Wizard
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue 25 Apr, 2006 2:24 pm

Post by blueskies »

not sure, but the spaces in 'Z:\Latenite Z80 Editor\' might be causing problems. Try what Timendus said (double quotes and full path link), and if that doesn't work try renaming the folder.

Also, why not do what Ben said? much easier, unless you're on an older version of windows, in which case it might not behave the same way. good luck.
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

If WordPad still opens the file after you added it, right-click and select "Open With..." - it should list both WordPad and Latenite, assuming when you added it manually you added it correctly. Select Latenite and tick the box for "always open with this program".
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

Actually, I have windows XP. For some reason when I select "open with", it gives always changes LateNite to WordPad

Edit: Figured out the problem.

run "Z:\LateNite" %1
needs to be run "Z:\LateNite" "%1"
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Urk, discovered a rather unfortunate bug in the current release - it mangles any of the more exotic Unicode characters.

For example:

Code: Select all

.asciimap '∫', $08 ; Integral sign
.asciimap 'Ãâ€â€
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

EarlyMorning fix!
Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

I've really never known what the EarlyMorning problem really is - as far as I remember, EarlyMorning wouldn't run properly unless it was being run from it's own local directory - Latenite had a hack that modified the working directory first, and EM worked fine (at least, for me).

Too-rapid tooltips will probably have to wait until I've written a new text editor control, sorry. Breakpoints will also have to be hand-inserted (using the .breakpoint) directive too, all limitations of the text editor.
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

I've really never known what the EarlyMorning problem really is - as far as I remember, EarlyMorning wouldn't run properly unless it was being run from it's own local directory - Latenite had a hack that modified the working directory first, and EM worked fine (at least, for me).
The workaround isn't needed anymore, and I guess that's what causing the problem :)
Image
Post Reply