[Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Here you can find side projects of the staff and great projects which we think should get extra support. (Note that featured projects are not projects by staff members of MaxCoderz)

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by tr1p1ea »

Unfortunately thats due to the low resolution of the calcscreen and possibly a loss of precision due to the integer math involved. Such things arent likely to change.

That said ive come up with a few ideas to improve efficiency ... unfortunately its only an 8-bit world atm, ill need to rewrite all the projection related stuff if i want things in 16-bits but that would be a massive performance hit i suspect :(.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
DigiTan
Calc Master
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri 04 Mar, 2005 12:52 am
Location: NW Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by DigiTan »

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo!...

*Water glass*

...Ooooo!


Well, it could be pretty cool to have for game cinematics/title screens. Just like that 2by2/Noice animation stuff.
My diet consists of nails, code-stealers, and HP fans.
Projects:

Robot War [TI-82, TI Flash App]
Sonic the Hedgehog [Multiplatform]
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by benryves »

Very impressive demo! :-) Then again, my love of spinning 3D shapes is hardly a secret...
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by tr1p1ea »

Extremely low detail starwars models :):

Image
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by benryves »

Nice! Is that a game idea brewing, or just experimentation? :-)
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by tr1p1ea »

At the moment its just experimenting :). Right now it runs at about 45-50fps just rendering a single low detail model (well model of lines :P). Not sure what the performance hit would be for multiple objects. Plus there is no object handling and subsequently there is no 'camera' yet, which is going to introduce some decent overhead. Not to mention the fact that the world is 8-bits ... which is also what many of my optimisations take advantage of (ill have to reintroduce that pesky division if i expand :().

Oh and there isnt any clipping either. 2D is easy enough, but i was wondering if i could get away with just near-plane clipping as far as the 3D aspect of it is concerned? Think that will suffice or is it going to have to be against a frustrum? :upset:.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by benryves »

You wouldn't need to expand all coordinates to enlarge the world; you could use 8-bit coordinates for the model, and 16-bit coordinates for its position within the world.
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Re: [Staff][Dev] 3D WireFrame Program

Post by tr1p1ea »

Yeah what i might end up experimenting with is translating everything into camera space and then only running calculations against anything thats within 8-bits of the camera (maybe even only 7-bits). Anything further out would be too small anyway. Of course the camera is going to initially be unrotated so im not sure if thats going to represent a problem.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
Post Reply