[Staff][Alpha] Emerson - TI-83+ Keyboard/Mouse

Here you can find side projects of the staff and great projects which we think should get extra support. (Note that featured projects are not projects by staff members of MaxCoderz)

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

kerm_martian wrote:Since you got the mouse working and I already have a mouse in Doors CS 5 and support for SEs, this is definitely getting ported. :)
I can't find the relevant topic atm, but I though you claimed you had already written a mouse driver a few months ago..? Sounds somewhat unfair to claim you wrote something, and then use someone else's hard work.
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Anyone wanting to test: use this one instead.
I've lengthed the timeouts and retries on some of the AT routines, as well as adding short pauses when initialising the mouse. As a result, all 3 rodents I had to test with initialise correctly.

The zip also contains a potentially useful AT "terminal", with which you can send commands to the connected device. Curiously, the keyboard I've been using sends F5 rather than FA as an ack... maybe why the PC it used to be on would compain that there wasn't a keyboard attached :)

As for mixing mouse and cursor keys; the mouse updates the (16-bit) values of Mouse._x and Mouse._y by an offset every Mouse._update, so you can manually change the values if you so wish. It's very easy to mix direct input and the mouse routines, especially as none of the calls in Emerson are blocking :)
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4132
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Wow ben, you manage to work on like a large range of projects all at once!

You are definately one of the most productive people in the community :).

You development journal is incredible btw ;).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

Timendus wrote:
kerm_martian wrote:Since you got the mouse working and I already have a mouse in Doors CS 5 and support for SEs, this is definitely getting ported. :)
I can't find the relevant topic atm, but I though you claimed you had already written a mouse driver a few months ago..? Sounds somewhat unfair to claim you wrote something, and then use someone else's hard work.
Dude, of course I'm going to ask first. :(
Image Image Image
Patori
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Post by Patori »

Ben: WTFOMGBBQ?!?!?!

Is that an external power supply I see?

I wanna see you enable clicking with the mouse... that would be super-cooly, chief!!
Currently coming up with a new signature idea... since my forum avatar changer was killed by an upgrade...
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

@Kerm: I expected that much :) But didn't you already have it..?
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Did someone say WTFOMGBBQ?!?!?!.
Looks great Ben!
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Patori wrote:Is that an external power supply I see?
The device needs to get 5V from somewhere, sadly.
I wanna see you enable clicking with the mouse... that would be super-cooly, chief!!
Already done, as well as Intellimouse extensions for the scrollwheel :)

I built myself a proper adapter:
Image
Image

...so testing can be a little easier :)
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

Yeah, that's pretty much what I wanted to make :) Looking good. I haven't been able to get a PS/2 socket yet though, but I found an old PS/2 mouse with the described four pins inside, so I'll give it another try one of these days :) I'm not yet sure where I can get +5v from easily though...
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Timendus wrote:I'm not yet sure where I can get +5v from easily though...
Those 5V voltage regulators work a treat. :) I got all my parts from Rapid, so was all very cheap.
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

Heheh :) I was trying to get this done without a trip to the electronics shop ;)

I just checked your development journal, and read about Vinegar :o Bloody amazing! How long do you intend not to post this on the MC board? :P
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

Timendus - yes, I did, but I never actually got it working due to lack of oscilloscope.
Image Image Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

I don't have an oscilloscope either.
I do have a sound card and copy of CoolEdit, though :)
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4132
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

I have CoolEdit Pro 2.0 and i must say that it is a very nice program, although i havent really used it that much.

I think i might go buy one of those 'mini-mice' and one of those laptop sized ps2 keyboards and try this stuff out on the weekend.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3078
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

In which case, releasing my routines would be useful... building this stuff just for a couple of ropey demos is a bit of a waste of resources!
I've slowed down development after realising that my test keyboard is broken (not sending the correct codes back) - the mouse stuff is pretty sharp, though, so I'll probably release that as a half-version of the include file.
I haven't got around to 5-button mouse support, as this adds even more complexity to the initialisation - in fact, sticking to standard 3-button mouse and no scrollwheel is much better, as it leaves the mouse as "hot-pluggable" and has a much faster initialisation.
Post Reply