Page 15 of 18

Posted: Tue 07 Feb, 2006 5:25 pm
by DJ_O
threefingeredguy wrote:The picture function needs to be used creatively if you don't want it to be slow as hell.
I hope this wasn't meant to be bad, thats what we do i guess, if you dont think so do it yourself maybe and post some examples. I tried GS and it wasnt that slow, even 5 level, but animated sprites are cool too. I was just messing around with gs thats all.

Could you explain your 3 layer routine more and maybe post some code for it?

Besides grayscale above 4 level is ugly as hell in PTI I have to set momentum up and down to 1% to make it look good and then I still see some weird stuff in it, on calc it look much better

Posted: Tue 07 Feb, 2006 11:24 pm
by threefingeredguy
Flickering on and off sprites is fine and dandy, but there are 2 downfalls: It has more information to parse and it slows down drastically for every sprite you add. My GS setup writes the 2 layers (for 3 level grayscale) into to picture variables and recalls them very quickly. No flicker by itself. When I added in game elements (collision detection, animated character sprite, moving around) it did flicker. However, it just looked like other grayscale packages did on my calc (which is rumored to have a bad LCD driver). I will make a screenshot in Pindur and see how it looks.

The 3 layer tile mapper supports backgrounds, objects on the background, and objects in front of the player. I use 3 matrices for this. This only works for Zelda style map movement, it is too slow for scrolling. I draw the background with [A] (grass and other things). Then I draw in things that you can collide with from . This includes trees, houses, and things you don't collide with(like flowers) that need to be overlayed on an existing tile. This way, trees appear over grass and the area around them doesn't turn white. I store all that into a Picture variable. A quick real(0 and I draw [C] first using masks. Store to a second pic. Then I clear the screen again and draw [C] with the normal sprites, store to a 3rd picture, and enter the movement loop. First I recall the background+collision picture using the overwrite method which includes grass, masked trees, and masked flowers. This erases the previous sprite location, handily. Then I mask on the character (AND the mask then OR the sprite). After that I AND on the second picture (top layer mask) and OR on the 3rd picture (top layer). Viola, three layers of graphics (bg, player, fg).

Posted: Wed 08 Feb, 2006 12:16 am
by DJ_O
sound nice, maybe you could post all sprite layers and source code for this?

Posted: Wed 08 Feb, 2006 12:23 am
by threefingeredguy
Sure, on Tuesday or Monday, I am going out of town.

Posted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006 10:27 am
by tr1p1ea
There seems to be a problem with xLIB and OS 1.19 ... did TI change something to screw me?

Can anyone with OS 1.19 confirm this?

Posted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006 1:06 pm
by kalan_vod
tr1p1ea wrote:There seems to be a problem with xLIB and OS 1.19 ... did TI change something to screw me?

Can anyone with OS 1.19 confirm this?
katmaster said it was his computer, just as we hoped for :D (he got it to work).

Posted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006 2:23 pm
by tr1p1ea
Oh ok ... phew! :).

Is anyone here running OS 1.19 though? Anyone have any probs?

Posted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006 4:02 pm
by kalan_vod
I haven't updated yet, but if no one else wants to I will be the test dummy. :D

Posted: Wed 22 Feb, 2006 4:30 pm
by DJ_O
I will not update, i never had problems with OS 1.18, unless there is new stuff in it I'll stick with 1.18, instead of risking of getting a new OS that will cause more problems (if any)

Hence why I stayed with OS 1.12 until early 2004

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 5:19 am
by tr1p1ea
Guys, the 16x16 tilemapper had problems with it! It would only draw half the map! I fixed it and reuploaded it to ticalc and kalan should put it up on Omnimaga soon.

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 5:22 am
by kalan_vod
It has been upload to omnimaga, and didn't dysfunction have this problem though? I thought necro and dragon_lance were using 16x16 tile mapping and they didn't report it? Idk I am not trying to place blam.

download here

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 5:30 am
by tr1p1ea
Well i dont know ... i was under the impression that it was working, yet i tested it last night and it indeed had a problem. If anyone could make sure that its working (i did test it and it seems to be ok now) it would be appreciated.

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 5:39 am
by kalan_vod
If I wasn't sick and on meds atm I would, maybe this week...haha I feel out of it :pP

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 4:00 pm
by crzyrbl
Is it just the 16*16 tilemapper that has the problem?

EDIT:

Any idea if xLib is usable with Basic Builder? if not, no biggie.

Posted: Sun 05 Mar, 2006 4:21 pm
by tr1p1ea
I dont know ... it would be something cool to test i think.

You ofcourse couldnt pack xLIB with the APP BasicBuilder produces.