xLIB v0.6b Testing

Moderator: tr1p1ea

User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2308
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

threefingeredguy wrote:The picture function needs to be used creatively if you don't want it to be slow as hell.
I hope this wasn't meant to be bad, thats what we do i guess, if you dont think so do it yourself maybe and post some examples. I tried GS and it wasnt that slow, even 5 level, but animated sprites are cool too. I was just messing around with gs thats all.

Could you explain your 3 layer routine more and maybe post some code for it?

Besides grayscale above 4 level is ugly as hell in PTI I have to set momentum up and down to 1% to make it look good and then I still see some weird stuff in it, on calc it look much better
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Flickering on and off sprites is fine and dandy, but there are 2 downfalls: It has more information to parse and it slows down drastically for every sprite you add. My GS setup writes the 2 layers (for 3 level grayscale) into to picture variables and recalls them very quickly. No flicker by itself. When I added in game elements (collision detection, animated character sprite, moving around) it did flicker. However, it just looked like other grayscale packages did on my calc (which is rumored to have a bad LCD driver). I will make a screenshot in Pindur and see how it looks.

The 3 layer tile mapper supports backgrounds, objects on the background, and objects in front of the player. I use 3 matrices for this. This only works for Zelda style map movement, it is too slow for scrolling. I draw the background with [A] (grass and other things). Then I draw in things that you can collide with from [B]. This includes trees, houses, and things you don't collide with(like flowers) that need to be overlayed on an existing tile. This way, trees appear over grass and the area around them doesn't turn white. I store all that into a Picture variable. A quick real(0 and I draw [C] first using masks. Store to a second pic. Then I clear the screen again and draw [C] with the normal sprites, store to a 3rd picture, and enter the movement loop. First I recall the background+collision picture using the overwrite method which includes grass, masked trees, and masked flowers. This erases the previous sprite location, handily. Then I mask on the character (AND the mask then OR the sprite). After that I AND on the second picture (top layer mask) and OR on the 3rd picture (top layer). Viola, three layers of graphics (bg, player, fg).
Image
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2308
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

sound nice, maybe you could post all sprite layers and source code for this?
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Sure, on Tuesday or Monday, I am going out of town.
Image
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

There seems to be a problem with xLIB and OS 1.19 ... did TI change something to screw me?

Can anyone with OS 1.19 confirm this?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

tr1p1ea wrote:There seems to be a problem with xLIB and OS 1.19 ... did TI change something to screw me?

Can anyone with OS 1.19 confirm this?

katmaster said it was his computer, just as we hoped for :D (he got it to work).
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Oh ok ... phew! :).

Is anyone here running OS 1.19 though? Anyone have any probs?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

I haven't updated yet, but if no one else wants to I will be the test dummy. :D
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2308
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

I will not update, i never had problems with OS 1.18, unless there is new stuff in it I'll stick with 1.18, instead of risking of getting a new OS that will cause more problems (if any)

Hence why I stayed with OS 1.12 until early 2004
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Guys, the 16x16 tilemapper had problems with it! It would only draw half the map! I fixed it and reuploaded it to ticalc and kalan should put it up on Omnimaga soon.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

It has been upload to omnimaga, and didn't dysfunction have this problem though? I thought necro and dragon_lance were using 16x16 tile mapping and they didn't report it? Idk I am not trying to place blam.

download here
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Well i dont know ... i was under the impression that it was working, yet i tested it last night and it indeed had a problem. If anyone could make sure that its working (i did test it and it seems to be ok now) it would be appreciated.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

If I wasn't sick and on meds atm I would, maybe this week...haha I feel out of it :pP
User avatar
crzyrbl
Calc Wizard
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: 3rd rock....

Post by crzyrbl »

Is it just the 16*16 tilemapper that has the problem?

EDIT:

Any idea if xLib is usable with Basic Builder? if not, no biggie.
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4128
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

I dont know ... it would be something cool to test i think.

You ofcourse couldnt pack xLIB with the APP BasicBuilder produces.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
Post Reply