Desolate: Game Discussion

Moderator: tr1p1ea

Duck
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:38 am

Post by Duck »

This may be a bit off topic, but Kozak your Location in your profile is constantly changing.
Currently its "Desolate space cruiser toilet", and kv83 changed to "Still searching for a ION-phaser on Desolate ;)".

Are you two doing this yourselves or is there a hacker on the loose again?
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

hehe... no need to worry... It's fun to use it as second signature... I saw Kozak's sig, and just thought it would be funny to have something similar

P.s.: 200 Posts 8) w00t
Image
Kozak
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 5:33 pm
Location: On the dark side of the moon.
Contact:

Post by Kozak »

Hehe no I changed my location but I wasn't satisfied with it so I made a variation on someones else location.
"They say that sea was created by a man named Maarten Zwartbol, a long time ago...." - Duck, an old Corbin version
pacHa
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun 09 Jan, 2005 9:51 am
Contact:

Post by pacHa »

(answering to what has been said at the very beginning of the topic)

yep, tr1p gave me the source, and Marc Plouhinec almost managed to port it
I may ask him soon to show me so that I can test it / tell you what's going on :)
Image
User avatar
Madskillz
Calc Wizard
Posts: 745
Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 10:22 pm
Location: Wandering around in the Jungle...
Contact:

Post by Madskillz »

Sweet...even though I don't have an 82, it is still could to hear that Desolate wont solely be for the 83's!
The Revolution is here...
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Im sorry about the source pacHa, it is very crappy in some places and is Marc is probably going crazy trying to figure out why i did certain things :).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
pacHa
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun 09 Jan, 2005 9:51 am
Contact:

Post by pacHa »

no don't worry tr1p
it seems that marc managed to do something quite playable, I couldn't test it though
(emulators/link issues you know)
but if someone is willing to try it on vti it's here : http://marcplouhinec.free.fr/divers/desolate82.zip

I will try it on real hardware asap
Image
User avatar
blueskies
Calc Wizard
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue 25 Apr, 2006 2:24 pm

Post by blueskies »

It doesn't work too well on real hardware. I put SNG.82B, A.82B, DESOLaTE.82P and GRAYLIB.82P on. The title screen is pretty flickery, and when I quit, I get a bunch of garbled text that ends in "FAIL". The actual game seems pretty playable (played about 5 minutes), but it just doesn't look good. The greyscale is very flickery.
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Oh well, at least its a start :).
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
pacHa
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun 09 Jan, 2005 9:51 am
Contact:

Post by pacHa »

yep
I still couldn't test it...sorry
I think the best thing to do to port it correctly would first of all to port the GPP...
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

which would propably easier with the grayscale docus *wink* *wink*
Image
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Probbly, although it is pretty easy to just make your own grayscale routine and use that.

How is marc going with the 82 port?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
TI84SE
New Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri 13 May, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: The Verdantes Forest!

Post by TI84SE »

Nice graphics, but the first part is very confusing and boring. I didn't know what to do so I deleted it. I don't like the fact that you have to enter a code to enter EACH and EVERY room. It should be that you enter the code one time, then all the same level rooms will work.

~TI84SE
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

TI84SE wrote:Nice graphics, but the first part is very confusing and boring. I didn't know what to do so I deleted it. I don't like the fact that you have to enter a code to enter EACH and EVERY room. It should be that you enter the code one time, then all the same level rooms will work.

~TI84SE
You don't have to enter a code for every room... how long did you play the game? 2 seconds? :?
Image
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4135
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Well, it was made like that so that you would actually have to remember the door codes as there are only 4 of them. If you only ever had to enter them once then there is hardly any point of having them in the first place.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
Post Reply