Page 1 of 2

Greyscale tetris for ti-83\84

Posted: Mon 24 Dec, 2007 10:53 pm
by cjgone
----------------------------------------------------------------------------->
ty kalan_vod Imagefor screenshot :D

DOWNLOAD AT YOUR OWN RISK.
<-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Z0mg, it's greyscale (grayscale, who cares!) tetris for the ti-83\84 featuring flickerless greyscale from RGP (revolutionary greyscale package). :D

Source Code: (NOTE: IF YOU CAN READ THE SOURCE CODE, TAKE A COOKIE! The only reason there is source is because free source is ftw and you can confirm that i'm not a code thief [except the routine metioned below]) :D)

and game in one happy package!!
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fi ... 40646.html

Readme: Includes lotsa crap, but most importantly:

----------------
Playing:
----------------
The hi score table only works when the program is in RAM or if FLASH write back is enabled when it's archived. USE MIRAGE OS (or a similar shell)
--------------
Special thanks:
--------------
istudio

jim e

durk kingma

sigma
-----------------------------
Routines that I did not write:
------------------------------
XOR display

grayscale routine

random number generator

fastcopy

Sigma's text input routine

LUT sprite routine
---------------------------------





Tech Crap:
Sigma's text routine puts the calc in 15 mhz mode for some reason, idk why... so that's why there's the xor a, out ($20),a.

The code is not structured in any senseful way. Attempting to read it will cause mental suffering.

Grayscale is disabled so I can use VPUTS, CPUTS, and every other interrupt mode 1 bcall that I was to lazy to implement.

Efficiency was not my goal.... You might realize that soon as you download it :D

Posted: Tue 25 Dec, 2007 2:53 am
by dysfunction
Try PindurTI for your emulator, has excellent grayscale emulation and a built-in screenshotter- http://users.hszk.bme.hu/~pg429/pindurti/

Posted: Tue 25 Dec, 2007 3:06 pm
by kalan_vod
Image

Note it did reset when I pressed graph to exit, ran with NoShell and it was unarchived..

Posted: Tue 25 Dec, 2007 4:08 pm
by Liazon
nice!!

Posted: Tue 25 Dec, 2007 10:49 pm
by cjgone
Note it did reset when I pressed graph to exit, ran with NoShell and it was unarchived..
Erm, you mean resest as in memory, or the program just restarted? How often does it do it (everytime?)? OR do you mean the hi score table?

I don't know what Noshell is, but it might be because it isn't copied back. (In mirage OS, it is copied back regardless in ram.) >_<

It also supports optional program writeback and chaining with other parser hooks, such as xLIB.
Optional write back ftw? :D

Erm, I might be able to manually write back the information :o





Thanks for screeny and info. I'll see what I can do about it.:D[/quote]

Posted: Wed 26 Dec, 2007 3:59 am
by ISUCK
ok, I think I found a bug. Not too sure how/why it works, but it does.

So I put the game into my calc and played it. Like kalan_vod, it reset the memory. I was using DoorsCS6, and it was in the ram.

So, I was working on some math homework, and I needed to use teh nDeriv() and fnInt() function (in the math button menu) and whenever I typed in a problem for it to solve, it would reset the ram. I was so baffled, I deleted some of my unused programs. I reinstalled the OS, nothing seemed to work. Then, I decided to reinstall tetris again. Sure enough, it crashed as I quit. However, I tried fnInt() again and it worked. :\

Hope this bug gets fixed. Again, I have no idea why that happened. Note that I didn't do ANYTHING in between installing tetris, playing it, and working on my homework, so I think it's safe to assume that nothing else was a factor in my problem.

BTW, i'm using a TI-84+ SE

Posted: Wed 26 Dec, 2007 10:17 pm
by cjgone
*cuts wrists*

Am I the only person that isn't getting a crash? >_<


I have no clue about DOOR CS... is it compatible with Mirage OS?

(I should of specified only Mirage OS). -- Now I did. :\


Idk about Kalan vod's problem yet 'cause I don't know what reset (memory, hi score table, blah here, blah there).. -_-'


Is it possible for someone to test it with Mirage OS to see if it works? >_< :( :( :( :(

Posted: Thu 27 Dec, 2007 4:17 am
by kalan_vod
Just tested it on Mirage, same result (ram reset, calc unresponsive).

Posted: Thu 27 Dec, 2007 4:47 am
by cjgone
Soz for all the problems.... updated the file..

http://www.unitedti.org/index.php?act=A ... st&id=2062
erm... I reset my RAM and ran the program with no problems at all...

This is making me sad :(.

What calculator are you using and it crashes after you exit the prog? (On my calc it takes like 10 seconds before returning to mirage.)


Pweese test. If you get a crash, i'm gonna jump off a cliff. :(



ROFL, if it crashes I think I know why.. Just looked at my code...

Code: Select all


cp $FE
ret z  ; some crazy key check that returns the calculator in the wrong interrupt
^WTF...oops.... that wouldn't take the calculator out of interrupt mode 2!!!



if this works, it should work for other shells :D

Posted: Thu 27 Dec, 2007 7:45 am
by kv83
Nicely done. :)

Posted: Thu 27 Dec, 2007 9:25 pm
by cjgone
ZOMG ZOMG ZOMG!!!!

From superior requests, I have impemented 10 by x and 14 by x as an option so you can feel as if you were playing the standard tetris! <3

PLZZZ download and test it this last time and make sure it actually works. TY.

One last screenshot plz.

Posted: Sun 30 Dec, 2007 11:06 pm
by kalan_vod
Image

Doesn't crash anymore, extend your game play with the 14 across feature being my favorite! The link you posted doesn't work so here is a new one.

Posted: Mon 31 Dec, 2007 12:32 am
by cjgone
Kalan, thanks for the support. ^^

I'll upload on ticalc now :D, to bad my program takes up so much memory. Oh well, greyscale is ftw. :D

If I can somehow get the C compiler i'm using to work, I want to make some more pwnage games. :twisted:

Posted: Mon 31 Dec, 2007 1:49 am
by tr1p1ea
Hey im quite impressed with this project. Grayscale is nice and the game plays pretty well.

As for the C compiler (z88dk right?), i wouldnt worry about it too much since all it really creates is bloatware. I know you probably dont like hearing that but i do have a decent amount of experience messing around with it. The programs it produces are comparable to BASIC+libs in speed and size.

I can give you some tips for getting it to work correctly if you want though.

Posted: Mon 31 Dec, 2007 2:19 am
by cjgone
Thanks tr1p1ea. ^.^


I realize that the C compiler probably isn't the best option for calculator coding, but I still want to use it ^_^. I'm probably going to do a lot of inserted assembly language + some C for the annoying stuff (and of course, just pure assembly coding). :P

And come on, the output can't be worse then my own assembly coding. ;)


I would be really thankful if you could show me how to get working files for the Ti-84\84 plus SE.



Yay, my game got uploaded to ticalc, but it doesn't seem to be fully looked over yet 'cause they forgot the screenshot and it says no documentation or source code.

I gave it the most exciting description, so everyone will be happy to play it ( good grammar, who wants that?!!!).
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fi ... 40646.html