Bugs

One suite to code them all. An complete IDE and assembler for all your z80 projects!

Moderators: benryves, kv83

User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

It shouldn't do, as it wouldn't be able to evaluate labels during the first pass correctly.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

it does though.
Last edited by King Harold on Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Not on my machine:

Code: Select all

Brass Z80 Assembler 1.0.4.8 - Ben Ryves 2005-2006
-------------------------------------------------
Assembling...
Pass 1 complete. (328ms).
'This is a test of .echo'
Pass 2 complete. (31ms).
Writing output file...
Errors: 0, Warnings: 0.
Done!
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

hm, it doesnt do it anymore, or maybe I didn't read it carefully enough..
It does, however, echo twice, once in pass 2 and once.. after it is done..? odd
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Is this in Latenite or on the command line?
Latenite collects the output messages from an error reporting XML file, and so probably displays it multiple times - once as Brass is run (Brass displays in the output window) and once afterwards (when decoding the error log).

The fact that the two run on different threads mean that the order of events might be a little shuffled.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

oh that's why..
ok then :)
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

Here's a bug: I tried to debug a multi-page app compiled with Latenite/brass and it gave me this error:
Could not get debugger start information:
Unexpected end of file has occured. The following elements are not closed: module,brass. line 3675, position 1.
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

I think more information is required on this front. It may not be a bug with BRASS; it might be a problem with your source.

Would you be able to post your code for us to look at?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

That sounds like an XML-related bug. Could you attach (don't post, it'll be huge) the XML debug log from the \Compile directory?
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

How do I attach files?
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Well, I say attach, but I don't think we have said forum mod installed yet. You could email it to me, I guess.

Do you still get the error?
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

Yes, I do. I also noticed this little doosie when I compiled any code that should work:
Output screen wrote:Assembling...
Pass 1 complete. (650ms).
Pass 2 complete. (80ms).
Writing output file...
Errors: 0, Warnings: 0.
Writing error log...
Writing debug log...
Writing list file...
Error: Could not write list file (The given key was not present in the dictionary.).
Done!
------ Build Process Complete ------
========== Build: 0 errors, 0 warnings ==========
note that this happens whenever I compile any truely compile-able code regardless of compile script, debug, file format, etc.

Could this be the cause of my problems (note that still sends single-page apps and programs to the calculator correctly)?

Edit: I've sent you the template I a have created to make multi-page apps.
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

"The given key was not present in the dictionary." is a known bug, and the list file writing code is an abomination, so I haven't tracked down what exactly is causing it.

I received your email, and will look at it tonight. :)
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

You were quite right, it was a bug in Brass. The branch table code was creating a new label, and for some reason it wasn't being populated with a filename. When the debug file was written, it tried to make sense of an empty filename so threw an error, leaving you with an empty log.
I've done a quick fix - see if this works for you.

In TI-83 Plus (Application).cmd, the line:

Code: Select all

SET EXTENSION=8xp
needs to be modified to

Code: Select all

SET EXTENSION=8xk
In the debug script,

Code: Select all

send-file %DEBUG_BINARY%.8xk
...should therefore be just

Code: Select all

send-file %DEBUG_BINARY%
To test, I used your template and added the following code:

Page0.asm

Code: Select all

; ===============================================================
; Test Page 1
; ===============================================================

Main

 bcall(_ClrLCDFull)
 bcall(_Page1_Main) ; Off-page call
 bcall(_GetKey)

 bjump(_JForceCmdNoChar)     		; Exit
Page1.asm

Code: Select all

Page1_Main
 ld hl,3+5*256
 ld (curRow),hl
 ld hl,TestString
 ld de,op1
 rst rMOV9TOOP1
 ld hl,op1
 bcall(_PutS)
 ret

TestString
.db "Hello",0
Hit F5, and it runs in PTI. :)
User avatar
silver calc
New Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?

Post by silver calc »

Thanks, it works now.
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary
Post Reply