[TI ASM] Use an other assembler?

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Post Reply
blitzmaster
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 20 Dec, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

[TI ASM] Use an other assembler?

Post by blitzmaster »

Hi!
I have a question about assemblers. All the programs are written in TASM, aren't they. Can I use an other assembler? In my case this would be nasm. I read in the Wikipedia, that the z80 OPCodes are the same as Intel's.
So can I use NASM? Do I need some extra Information to use NASM?
Thanks!

Blitzmaster
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

From what I can see, NASM is an x86 assembler, so unless you can get it to generate Z80 object code, it's useless.

The Z80 can run 8080 code, so if you have an 8080 assembler then that should work, but you'd miss out a lot of the groovy extensions ZiLOG made to the Z80 that weren't in the 8080.

TASM is pretty horrible, so I wrote my own horrible-but-in-different-ways assembler called Brass, and Spencer also wrote an assembler called SPASM. If you hunt around, there are many other Z80 assemblers to try.
blitzmaster
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 20 Dec, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Post by blitzmaster »

OK. The syntax is more than horrible. Is there any way to find out the serial number of the calculater?
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

What do you find horrible - the assembler syntax (directives et al) or the Z80 syntax? You could confuse people by "#define mov ld" and so on if it's the latter. ;)

If you switch on the calculator and press Mode then Alpha+S, it should display the serial number (IIRC, I could be wrong). Don't press Enter as it'll clear your memory.
blitzmaster
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 20 Dec, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Post by blitzmaster »

ok, I searched for a way in TI - ASM
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

2ND [MEM] 1 isnt it?
Alpha S displays BaseVer etc, but I dont remember seeing serial numbers.

I program some x86 asm aswell, I never found mov and ld confusing or annoying, it means about the same anyway.
and TI has something "Mov9toOp1" and "MovN" where N is a number, so you'll still see mov :) I never saw LD in x86 asm though.
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

King Harold wrote:2ND [MEM] 1 isnt it?
Alpha S displays BaseVer etc, but I dont remember seeing serial numbers.
You're probably right.
blitzmaster
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 20 Dec, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Post by blitzmaster »

he is right. But how can I find it with TI-ASM?
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

look here at WikiTI

Flash must be write enabled first for just about anything that has something to do with the ID, so you'd have to use some sort of trick...
blitzmaster
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 20 Dec, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Post by blitzmaster »

thanks @ all!
Post Reply