[TI ASM] Running ASM directly from TIOS?

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Svinter
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 22 Feb, 2005 12:11 am
Location: Space Mountain Land

[TI ASM] Running ASM directly from TIOS?

Post by Svinter »

I'm wondering if there's a way you can make an ASM program run like a BASIC one just from TIOS, no Asm( . I'm thinking about making a little animation for my Trig teacher's calc (something he was talking about someone did before in BASIC but it was huge so I wanna show off ASM :D ). But I want to make it for 83, since that's what he uses most and there isnt an Asm( token on the 83. Thanks!
LCR ~ 80% Finished
merthsoft
Extreme Poster
Posts: 496
Joined: Tue 21 Dec, 2004 6:49 am
Location: WI

Post by merthsoft »

83 uses Send(9prgmNAME
I think...
Shaun
User avatar
blueskies
Calc Wizard
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue 25 Apr, 2006 2:24 pm

Post by blueskies »

Uh, Venus? It's only the best shell for the 83, and runs programs directly from the prgm menu.
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

Merthsoft wrote:83 uses Send(9prgmNAME
I think...
Correct
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2324
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

do u need ZASMLOAD?
Image Image Image Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)
Svinter
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 22 Feb, 2005 12:11 am
Location: Space Mountain Land

Post by Svinter »

I'm looking for a way to load it DIRECTLY from TIOS, since he doesn't know anything really about calculators, doesn't use shells and the only programs he has on his calc are little basic programs he made to give to the classes to help check answers on tests. I don't wanna confuse him with all the Asm loading things, just use it like all the other programs he's got.

I guess what I'm looking for is a byte token for Send(. Maybe there's something in the Venus code about it, if I knew where to get it (only used Ion when I actively used my 83, I was a noob).
LCR ~ 80% Finished
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

I'm very much not seeing your problem...

Code: Select all

PROGRAM:RUNME
"ZRUNME
Send(9prgmZASMLOAD
Where prgmZRUNME is your asm program with the fancy animation, and ZASMLOAD is a standard program you can find almost everywhere...
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
Svinter
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue 22 Feb, 2005 12:11 am
Location: Space Mountain Land

Post by Svinter »

I guess Im just not very familiar with the 83, since I never really used it for anything but basic (except mario and phoenix lol).
LCR ~ 80% Finished
User avatar
DJ_O
Calc King
Posts: 2324
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Contact:

Post by DJ_O »

Timendus wrote:I'm very much not seeing your problem...

Code: Select all

PROGRAM:RUNME
"ZRUNME
Send(9prgmZASMLOAD
Where prgmZRUNME is your asm program with the fancy animation, and ZASMLOAD is a standard program you can find almost everywhere...
Odd, I couldnt seem to find this program in the TI-83 Assembly shells section of ticalc.org, but it should be included with Zapi83

EDIT: is it possible to run assembly programs without ZASMLOAD?
Image Image Image Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)
Andy_J
Calc Master
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
Contact:

Post by Andy_J »

Well, ZASMLOAD is ASM, so duh, yeah. :P As already mentioned several times in this thread, Send(9prgmNAME is the equivalent of Asm( on the 83+.
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

Well, to begin with, ZASMLOAD is not a shell... It's a loader...

Second, Send(9 is not the exact equivalent of Asm(. Asm( can run squished programs, with Send(9 you need ZASMLOAD to do that.

"Squished? What's that? I don't know how a program could not be squished since I'm a bloody Ti-83+ programmer" :D
Go RTFM ;)
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

The answer: Forget ZASMLOAD. Just use Venus. As long as program θV exists, the programs will just run and work perfectly. Delete the gui part of the shell (prgmA) if you want to, it's only good for running ion programs.

Unless you have no link cable and need to type it in manually, then you will need to make it a hex asm program, and run it with Send(9 command.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

I agree Venus is easily your best option here.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
DigiTan
Calc Master
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri 04 Mar, 2005 12:52 am
Location: NW Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by DigiTan »

I another term for this "No Stub" code? I've heard a little about it, but I didn't think it was possible without relocation. (I'm guessing this is what Venus does?)
My diet consists of nails, code-stealers, and HP fans.
Projects:

Robot War [TI-82, TI Flash App]
Sonic the Hedgehog [Multiplatform]
Kalimero
Regular Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 1:47 pm

Post by Kalimero »

Venus is like zasmload, but better. It's not a shell, it's a loader. You don't need to install it or anything. You can simply copy it to another calc, delete it etc.

Here's a hello world example:

Code: Select all

_clrScrnFull	.equ	475Dh
_homeUp		.equ	4775h
_puts		.equ	470Dh

	.org	9329h

; venus header
	.db	$E7, $39, $5F, $5B, $56, $3F, $00

; program
	call	_clrScrnFull
	call	_homeUp
	ld	hl,hello
	call	_puts
	ret

hello:
	.db	"Hello World",0

.end
Assemble this and put it on an 83 together with prgm(theta)V (venus loader) and you'll be able to run this program directly from the PRGM menu.
Post Reply