MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: bosses
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 4:18 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu 30 Dec, 2004 5:43 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
everything seems to be coming together very nicely. great job so far guys. i can't help but wonder about the bosses, though. a crucial part of every metroid is the huge bosses. with external level sets (i assume you plan on releasing an editor, maybe i am wrong in doing so) i can't imagine how new bosses could be created. do you plan on recycling bosses (after making a set few) for every set or are you going to come up with a method of "boss editing." hell, you may not even put bosses in at all. i'm just curious. thanks, and continue the great work guys.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 5:21 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4095
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I dont know if there will be a level editor released ... but i do remember seeing some test gfx with a boss in it. So i think we can be confident there will in fact be bosses :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 9:06 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Where'd you see these graphics? :D

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 2:15 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 9:41 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Michigan (USA)
Yeah, umm... Kraid. That big thing? Yeah... not quite possible on the poor processor of the Ti-83/+. We (meaning Joe and I) decided that a 5 (maybe more) screen tall boss would just be too much. Tile wise, that would add another near 140 tiles (not including the animated ones). Thats just too much. However, a smaller version might be made (maybe 1-2 screens tall). But, again, we'll see. One step at a time, one step at a time....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 5:45 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
The size of metroid right now is about 11kb or so, right?

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 11:01 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 4:20 pm
Posts: 12
Cyan wrote:
Yeah, umm... Kraid. That big thing? Yeah... not quite possible on the poor processor of the Ti-83/+. We (meaning Joe and I) decided that a 5 (maybe more) screen tall boss would just be too much. Tile wise, that would add another near 140 tiles (not including the animated ones). Thats just too much. However, a smaller version might be made (maybe 1-2 screens tall). But, again, we'll see. One step at a time, one step at a time....


If I'm not mistaken Kraid was only two screens tall in Metroid Zero Mission... and 2 screens wide.

_________________
---===::\/enIgmA\/::===---


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: true...
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 1:15 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 9:41 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Michigan (USA)
...Yes... true... only about 2 by 2 screens. BUT that was when Samus was only about 1/7th the size of the screen... not 1/3rd... small doesn't always mean smaller... or, maybe it does and I just don't like th believe it... oh shoot... I lost myself... :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 2:03 am 
Offline
Calc Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Posts: 1454
Location: Through the Aura
Too bad... that Kraid looked f*ing awesome.

_________________
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 2:42 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
We're dealing with a much smaller screen resolution though, so Zero Mission's size isn't really that relative. The size of Kraid was also about the same in Super Metroid.

Last week I got Zero Mission, and beat it a few days ago. Some places in the game are very similar to the original metroid. The ending is quite different (and very hard) though. (that's as much of a spoiler I'm giving :twisted:)

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: true...
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 4:50 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 4:20 pm
Posts: 12
Cyan wrote:
...Yes... true... only about 2 by 2 screens. BUT that was when Samus was only about 1/7th the size of the screen... not 1/3rd... small doesn't always mean smaller... or, maybe it does and I just don't like th believe it... oh shoot... I lost myself... :roll:


Just make him two screens by two screens. and everyone will be happy! :D


DarkAuron wrote:
We're dealing with a much smaller screen resolution though, so Zero Mission's size isn't really that relative. The size of Kraid was also about the same in Super Metroid.

Last week I got Zero Mission, and beat it a few days ago. Some places in the game are very similar to the original metroid. The ending is quite different (and very hard) though. (that's as much of a spoiler I'm giving :twisted: )


It's similar b/c it a remake of the first Metroid...

_________________
---===::\/enIgmA\/::===---


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: true...
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 5:02 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
MODS wrote:
Just make him two screens by two screens. and everyone will be happy! :D

I think if Kraid were at least as big as the screen, that'd be good enough.
MODS wrote:
It's similar b/c it a remake of the first Metroid...

Yeah but theres a lot of enhancements and more involvement with chozo lore. Also upgrades from the other metroids are in this, so even if a remake, it's an enhanced remake. But still good. And then after you beat it, you unlock the original to play. Fun stuff :)

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 04 Jan, 2005 4:11 pm 
I certainly don't see why you couldn't have a 2-screen-high boss...that seems an appropriate size, really. The Kraid mockup you did earlier was awesome, but it looked to be a pretty much straight conversion of the much-higher-rez Kraid of Super Metroid. If you find you are indeed able to make two-screen-high bosses, I imagine you could create a smaller series of Kraid tiles that'd be just as impressive, if not so taxingly huge. Frankly I don't have really high hopes for bosses in this game...thinking on a level of the original Metroid, those bosses were relatively teeny, because that's all that system could really handle at the time, too. Kraid was only slightly larger than Samus. I'd love to see a room-filling Kraid, but that'd be an entirely different kind of fight. Whatever you folks can pull off in terms of bosses should suffice, even if they aren't enormous buggers.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 05 Jan, 2005 12:38 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:01 pm
Posts: 105
If all not Kraid then how about Ridley? He/she/it could could probably fit on one screen maybe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 05 Jan, 2005 2:59 am 
I think Ridley's fight would actually be cooler using a sprite not too much larger than Samus, like in the original Metroid. Ridley is supposed to be the quicker and more vicious of the two bosses, having wings and looking generally draconian, so I think it'd be cool and offer more of a fight if he were flying around the screen rather than looming over it. Kraid, though, seems like a prime candidate for a multi-screen boss...two screens should suffice, though. :D


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 05 Jan, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 4:20 pm
Posts: 12
SenorPhrog wrote:
Kraid, though, seems like a prime candidate for a multi-screen boss...two screens should suffice, though. :D


OR! They could make it appear like he's two screens tall like draw half of him on one screen but Samus can only move on that one screen... See what I'm getting at. It'll have the illusion that Kraid is 2 screens tall but in reality he won't be. So it saves space, speed, AND makes everyone happy! Oh and if Samus happens to fall off the side into Kraid then she'll get forced back up because of the damage she recieves from Kraid. Like when she gets hit she bounces back...

_________________
---===::\/enIgmA\/::===---


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt