16x16 sprite maker

Got a brilliant program idea? Let us know!

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

16x16 sprite maker

Post by tifreak8x »

I am wondering if anyone would be willing to make an asm 16x16 sprite maker that reads hex from a string and outputs it on the graphscreen, reading from a list in Ans? The way I had it in mind would be: {Str#,X,Y

I have asked Kerm, but he is busy with DCS, and I am unsure when he will be able to get this accomplished. I need this for my upcoming Pokemon Purple game (Which I need to post about, I guess).

Any help would be greatly appreciative. :)
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

Of course I'm gonna get it accomplished! :)
Image Image Image
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Not a matter of if, a matter of when... :P
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Yeah that would be cool, but how slow would it be? Unless kerm adds it in his shell?
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

Truthfully, it would be quite slow. A better way, which would be relatively simple for me, would be:

X=x
Y=y
Ans=16-char hex
Asm(ZXOR8
Image Image Image
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Would it really be that slow? It would have to be better than a BASIC version (Which I haven't had much luck in making. I have other ideas to try though...
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Run codex using the sprite command, if he had a seperate program just for the routine it would be a little faster than the sprite function in codex.
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

If memory serves, Codex pulls 8x8 off of Pic0, which won't work. This is the only way I see of making this work correctly...
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

TI-Freak8x - I'll try to code you the version I was talking about this evening.
Image Image Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

tifreak8x wrote:If memory serves, Codex pulls 8x8 off of Pic0, which won't work. This is the only way I see of making this work correctly...
It was just an example of how slow it is using the asm( command.
User avatar
KermMartian
Calc Wizard
Posts: 549
Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Contact:

Post by KermMartian »

That's the only problem. Well, I'll make it and see what happens. :)
Image Image Image
Liazon
Calc Guru
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu 27 Oct, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by Liazon »

If I have a chance, maybe I'll make some hex code for you. But right now I'm bogged down with work.
Image Image Image
User avatar
dysfunction
Calc Master
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Location: Through the Aura

Post by dysfunction »

If someone gives him the hex, he could just store the hex of his sprite into a string, concantenate that with the hex of the sprite drawer (stored in another string), then run the hex with Omnicalc.
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"
tifreak8x
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon 11 Jul, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by tifreak8x »

Well, I would rather keep it simple, and I have had a lot of bad luck with apps, so I keep them off of my calcs. The only one that has not caused me grief is Crunchy. :) Otherwise, my calc crashes almost daily, whether I am using an app or not...

And getting the hex is simple, using CalcGS...
http://tifreakware.net - Connecting TI communities
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Ah, dysfunction, that is genius. The problem is: where in memory is assembly located? If only you could get the value of pc. Oh well, off to the PTI debugger to see what happens when you run that token!
Image
Post Reply