MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb, 2006 4:43 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
CoBB wrote:
Blasphemy! Screenshot made with TISShot! :P
*hides*

All the debugging work was done in Pindur! Honest!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb, 2006 4:44 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Posts: 2932
benryves wrote:
kalan_vod wrote:
Well I just meant that could you fill the screen. Like not shrinking it 50% but shrinking it 75% or so?
That's what I tried. The problem is that you lose pixels in doing so; if you look at the SCHIP "Blinky" (Pacman) you'll see the dots and walls are one pixel thick and they end up being erased.

Well I thought it would look ok if that had happened, but you say you tried it and it looks crappy so I don't mind :P. It is still a great program !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb, 2006 4:48 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
benryves wrote:
The best looking method was to scale the entire thing down to 50%, but add an offset of either one x or one y (so four different frames) each loop, creating a flickery greyscale view. For some games this looked OK, for others (such as Ant) it made the graphics a horrible mess.
In the end, I removed that code completely and just use the pan-and-scan method.

The former method sounds interesting. Perhaps you could make that an option in the settings?

Ben, do you still have no Internet on your own PC? I think that could explain how you can be so productive :mrgreen: I shouldn't be wasting time online as much as I do, and actually code stuff :)

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb, 2006 4:56 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Timendus wrote:
The former method sounds interesting. Perhaps you could make that an option in the settings?
I might, but the extra "video modes" added quite a lot of code and were very ugly.

Quote:
Ben, do you still have no Internet on your own PC?
Nope, no internet access. This is why I only learned about I being modified by the FX55/FX65 instructions today, as the docs I downloaded on Friday evening didn't mention it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 11:17 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Download

The reason I hadn't heard about I being incremented after copying the registers to memory was because... it's wrong. ;)

I added scaling the LCD: here's a "before and after" shot :)
Image Image

I also reorganised the "ROMs" folder of the zip so it should be easier to find the right files.

I haven't done anything with the sprite routines. I'll probably add more conventional wrapping, and possibly an option to change the interrupt speed, then call it a day (the interrupt is used on the timers - notice how Joust runs at roughly the same speed, whatever options you set. That's because it sensibly uses the CHIP-8 timer).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 11:43 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I think that resizing effort is very acceptable. With motion, you will never even know!

Im a little bit afraid to ponder about the possibilities for your next project! :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 2:13 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 2286
Location: Quebec (Canada)
sound awesome, I am installing a few files on my calc now. :)


Only problem tho you might want to fix for people who can only use an USB cable: in TI connect only the emulator, IBM and UFO can be sent, all other calcs are flagged as incompatible type. Works fine with tio graph link tho

_________________
ImageImage
Bandcamp|FB|Youtube|Twitter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 2:21 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
xlibman wrote:
sound awesome, I am installing a few files on my calc now. :)


Only problem tho you might want to fix for people who can only use an USB cable: in TI connect only the emulator, IBM and UFO can be sent, all other calcs are flagged as incompatible type. Works fine with tio graph link tho
Argh, TI-Connect. It's because the files have lowercase characters in the name. :(

Come to think of it, if you send the 15puzzle file, you won't be able to delete it off your calculator without a RAM clear, as the OS won't display it (urk).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 5:03 pm 
Offline
Calc Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 3:07 am
Posts: 1454
Location: Through the Aura
Amazing- at a stroke you add tons more games to enjoy!

_________________
Image


"You're very clever, young man, but it's turtles all the way down!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 6:21 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Posts: 2932
Very nice scaling! Btw it looks like a litte gs in there?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 6:26 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
kalan_vod wrote:
Very nice scaling! Btw it looks like a litte gs in there?
When a black and a white pixel pair are compressed to a single pixel, it is drawn every other frame. Hence the grey, which is very noticable in SCHIP Blinky with the one-pixel wide dots/walls.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb, 2006 6:27 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Posts: 2932
Ahh cool, nice little effect then :D.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 01 Mar, 2006 11:06 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Download

I rewrote the sprite routines to speed them up and allow for wrapping around the screen (title screen of Field, paddle in Brix).

There's a dedicated program to convert CHIP-8 programs included, and I've reconverted all the programs to work with TI-Connect. I also removed X-Mirror (calls 1802 functions) and boot (requires loading at $000 rather than $200). You can also set the speed of the interrupt timer between 0Hz and 255Hz (defaults to the normal 60Hz).

Image
Happy, CoBB? :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 01 Mar, 2006 12:10 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
The ant game looks really good ... and changing the int timer to 0Hz aye? :).

I am also surprised at how you can pump out those informative readme's so easily :D.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 01 Mar, 2006 12:39 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
tr1p1ea wrote:
The ant game looks really good ... and changing the int timer to 0Hz aye? :).
0Hz is the slowest (in fact, the timer is stopped). The screenshots were taken at 60Hz, with a highish frame skip. I culled every other frame, then extended the delay, but it's still fractionally faster than the calculator... depending on which browser/GIF viewer you use :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt