MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 1:47 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
Ah, I return. And I'm gonna be all mysterious and say that I'm gonna have something interesting to show within the next few days (if not even later today). And if all goes well, two things will be made available for public consumption. But until then, I'll leave you all to guess.

One hint: Shattered Oasis is still alive, but in a different form...

:twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 4:09 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
http://rapidshare.de/files/3682726/ShatteredOasis.avi.html (1.73 mb)

:twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 4:59 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Tue 21 Dec, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 496
Location: WI
Umm, no player can seem to find the right codecs for this...

_________________
Shaun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 5:07 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
None? Damn! That sucks, like, a lot... I'm gonna have to check that out...

Edit: Reuploading in .mov format...

Edit 2: http://rapidshare.de/files/3684801/ShatteredOasis.mov.html (4.72 mb)

Argh. Well, the .avi will work for anyone who has Camtasia...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 5:29 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4095
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Very nice BetaSword ... but it isnt for calcs anymore? :(.

If anyone wants the codec they can get it from here: http://www.techsmith.com/download/codecsdefault.asp :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug, 2005 5:33 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
Well, the beta for Pocket RPG Maker just came out, and while it... Well... Doesn't have much of anything besides map editting and the walking engine... I've already imported nearly all the original sprites from the calc version. Next up: Replacing the character sprites. While it may no longer be for the calc itself, it's still gonna look like it. As in, straight black and white, nice and pixelly. Who needs color, anyways?

Plus, it's a LOT easier to make the maps in that thing. That entire area (an exact recreation of the one posted a while back, sprites and all) took maybe 10-15 minutes to make. Not to mention, all the work can now be done on my Pocket PC.

But don't worry, the same program also runs on normal PCs, so if someone doesn't have a Pocket PC, they can still use it. It's spiffy like that.

After I edit the character sprites, I'll probably post it up here.

Edit: Actually, I'm debating over whether or not to try and whip up some quick animations for the characters, too... Or at least the main character, so that it isn't just a static image sliding along... Oy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug, 2005 4:30 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Tue 21 Dec, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 496
Location: WI
Very nice... Maybe you (or someone else) can port it to the calc?

_________________
Shaun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 07 Aug, 2005 5:03 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
Well, it's on the calc at the moment... But frankly, I've kinda lost interest in the calc program, due to how freaking tedious it is to program in basic, and the fact that learning ASM would probably fry my brain. Not to mention the fact that I could only then work on it on my PC... But with this format, I can do all of it on my PPC, which is a helluva lot more convenient. But like I said before, it'll still be able to be played on a PC, along with a PPC, even though it will be in a teeny 240x320 window. But still.

Basically, as soon as I can find the graphlink cable, I'll get the stuff off my calc, and I'll put it up here for free download, so everyone can see it's calc version in the form that it's currently in.

Edit: Ooh, another improvement, methinks. I've decided to kinda redo the graphics. Basically, hi-res mode! Woo! 16x16 sprites, instead of keeping the 8x8 ones! And what's this? Indeed, one shade of grey has been thrown in for good measure! So maybe it'll look like it could be an ASM game now. Of course, I may end up keeping the 8x8 graphics if I think the new ones don't turn out well...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 8:19 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
could you repost the link, it takes me to an error page when i click either of them

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug, 2005 11:08 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
Actually, I'm gonna be posting actual screenshots of the areas with redone sprites and crap, along with screens from the new area I've made. Of course, none of these are linked together yet, and the RPG Maker isn't even finished... But yeah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug, 2005 6:01 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
sweeeet

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug, 2005 3:10 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
i know that you've pretty much given up programming this game on the calc, but have you ever tried using xLib? this game could probably made done pretty easily with xLib, and xLib has tilemapping so its a lot simpler. we cant let this game die on the calc for good :D

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug, 2005 7:09 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:34 am
Posts: 140
Location: West Chicago.
Unfortunately, that would only really help with the walking engine and such... Unfortunately, there's the battle engine to worry about, too, along with all the various events and interactions... It's... Complicated, to say the least... And unfortunately, I do not think I have the skill to accomplish it on the calc anymore... *sigh*... If only Kevin were still around... He'd probably be able to do it easily... And in greyscale, no less...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt