MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 434 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 24 Jun, 2006 4:02 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Hmmm ... when i click "open" it opens alright. but when i click "open in external editor" it gives me a error.... what's the 2nd action for than? :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun, 2006 9:48 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Wait, so if you double-click or select 'Open' for a file inside an EMR it works, but if you "Open in External Editor" it doesn't? OK, that makes sense, if that's the case (The "Open in External Editor" should be greyed out - IIRC the plugin passes the name of the resource/editor back to Latenite, so I should be able to get the menu say 'Open in EarlyMorning').


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun, 2006 1:35 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Quote:
Wait, so if you double-click or select 'Open' for a file inside an EMR it works, but if you "Open in External Editor" it doesn't?
Indeed... but only for the root file, the sprites/maps won't open from LateNite... but I don't know if you implemented that yet...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun, 2006 2:40 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Yep, as I said, I can just double-click each resource (map or sprite) and it opens EarlyMorning, and EarlyMorning is automatically showing the resource you double clicked on.

Could you try something for me? Copy a .emr file into the Plugins folder, then open up a command prompt and type "emr <name of resource file>". It should spit out an XML file - for example, emr slippy.emr gives me:
Code:
<x program="EarlyMorning"><folder name="Sprites"><file name="Empty" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 0" /><file name="Walltile" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 1" /><file name="Coin" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 2" /><file name="IceCube" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 3" /><file name="Hole" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 4" /><file name="PlayerTile" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 0 5" /></folder><folder name="Title"><file name="Title" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 1 0" /></folder><folder name="Slippy_Logo"><file name="Slippy" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr sprite 2 0" /></folder><folder name="Original Levels"><file name="Level 1" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 0" /><file name="Level 2" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 1" /><file name="Level 3" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 2" /><file name="Level 4" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 3" /><file name="Level 5" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 4" /><file name="Level 6" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 5" /><file name="Level 7" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 6" /><file name="Level 8" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 7" /><file name="Level 9" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 8" /><file name="Level 10" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 9" /><file name="Level 11" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 10" /><file name="Level 12" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 11" /><file name="Level 13" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 12" /><file name="Level 14" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 13" /><file name="Level 15" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 14" /><file name="Level 16" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 15" /><file name="Level 17" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 16" /><file name="Level 18" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 17" /><file name="Level 19" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 18" /><file name="Level 20" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 19" /><file name="Level 21" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 20" /><file name="Level 22" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 21" /><file name="Level 23" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 22" /><file name="Level 24" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 23" /><file name="Level 25" source="G:\Stuff\EarlyMorning\EarlyMorning.exe" args="slippy.emr map 3 24" /></folder></x>


Each 'source' attribute should point to the EarlyMorning EXE, each args should contain the command-line arguments.

Seeing as the data structure is quite clear, you could always try making your own plugin :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul, 2006 1:51 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
suggestion: put a menu item that lets you run plugins from Latenite instead of having to pull up the Latenite plugin folder from My Computer

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul, 2006 2:13 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
What do you mean by that? The only 'plugins' that are supported so far are file plugins, which you can't run as such.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul, 2006 4:31 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
I've looked at the folder where Latenite is in, and there's a folder called 'plugins'. Inside is another folder called 'Files'. Inside that is EMR.exe (Early Morning Resource Plugin).

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul, 2006 4:37 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Those plugins (of which there is only one) are for the project viewer on the right hand side. If you create a .emr file in EarlyMorning, Latenite will use EMR.exe to 'decode' it, and it can be expanded like a folder to show the tiles/sprites and maps inside. Double clicking one opens it up in EarlyMorning, if it's installed. That's the only purpose for the plugins as it is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 3:46 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 336
Does this program require internet access? I swear I've installed the VB.Net thing about 5 times and I still cannot use this program, as it says something about needing vb.net.2.xxxx something something.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 5:27 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
Any plans for implementing Apps at some point?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 11:38 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
As a template? Maybe, but it's not really tricky to make your own (look at the app "tutorial" on the Brass site). In terms of supporting apps in the same template as RAM programs - no, this will not happen.

@chickendude: No, no internet access required. Make sure you've installed the .NET 2 runtimes, not the .NET 1 runtimes. Not sure what you mean about VB, as there is no VB code in use anywhere in Brass or Latenite...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 12:17 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Hey ben. In the next release of EM I'll make it a option that the resource can be "build" without starting EM. Maybe you could make a option in LateNite that when clicking on "compile" it will first build the resourcefile and than compile the program :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 2:45 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Fri 07 Jul, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 336
Hah, no VB then. I'll double check to make sure it's the right one, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 3:16 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Suggestion: When you press the 'debug' botton, instead of compilling each time, detect if there's been any changes and only re-compile if there were any changes.

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul, 2006 3:50 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
silver calc wrote:
Suggestion: When you press the 'debug' botton, instead of compilling each time, detect if there's been any changes and only re-compile if there were any changes.
Why? For the one time in a year you compile a program that hasn't been changed? When developing the chance is rather low that that happens.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 434 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt