MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan, 2008 4:58 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 395
Location: $4080
hmm Ben?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan, 2008 5:50 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Sorry, I missed your post! :( I've downloaded a copy and will work on it as soon as possible. :)

Which version of IE do you have installed? Does the square still appear if you look at the online version in another browser? I suspect you do not have the correct font installed (try installing East Asian support?) but I'll try and remedy it.

Forward referencing with .echoln shouldn't work at all (this is by design).

The translation capability is not a feature of Brass, it's handled automatically by the .NET framework. .NET uses the UI thread's culture (set by the edition of Windows you own) to determine which satellite assemblies to load. You can spoof this (for testing purposes) by manually setting the thread culture with another app. I can release a tool that lets you specify the desired culture if you so wish? If you don't want to use the Dutch translation, delete the satellite assembly (nl\Brass.resources.dll).

The recompile button is a great idea. :)

Another bug is that certain errors are reported at the last line of the last source file to be used (rather than their actual line). This has been fixed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan, 2008 7:54 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 395
Location: $4080
benryves wrote:
Sorry, I missed your post! :( I've downloaded a copy and will work on it as soon as possible. :)
Hey, don't worry, I've got exams coming so I won't be able to program at all. That's also why I don't come here often any more :(

Quote:
Which version of IE do you have installed? Does the square still appear if you look at the online version in another browser? I suspect you do not have the correct font installed (try installing East Asian support?) but I'll try and remedy it.
I used the help executable, all other arrows display correctly and I never use IE, Firefox FTW! :mrgreen:

Quote:
Forward referencing with .echoln shouldn't work at all (this is by design).
Huh? Why did you designed it this way? I'll see if I didn't put a libs_start before it somehow...

Quote:
The translation capability is not a feature of Brass, it's handled automatically by the .NET framework. .NET uses the UI thread's culture (set by the edition of Windows you own) to determine which satellite assemblies to load. You can spoof this (for testing purposes) by manually setting the thread culture with another app. I can release a tool that lets you specify the desired culture if you so wish? If you don't want to use the Dutch translation, delete the satellite assembly (nl\Brass.resources.dll).
If you mean that you'll include it in the distribution then I think that's a good idea.

Quote:
The recompile button is a great idea. :)
:D
Make sure I don't forget a stay on top checkbox (or set it by default).
I mainly suggested this because it takes a long time (uh... 5 secs, yes I am that impatient) to start Brass, so if it were possible to keep it in RAM, that should speed up loading time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan, 2008 10:51 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
driesguldolf wrote:
I used the help executable, all other arrows display correctly and I never use IE, Firefox FTW! :mrgreen:
If you use the help viewer, you're using IE. ;) (Same goes for the graphical builder, that too is IE-based).

driesguldolf wrote:
Huh? Why did you designed it this way? I'll see if I didn't put a libs_start before it somehow...
Having each directive try and handle itself in two different ways (depending on the current pass) caused some nasty bugs. For example, a naïve implementation of .echoln would only run in the second pass, which would "fix" the forward referencing issue. However, what if you did this?

Code:
x = 0
.echoln x = 1
.if x
    ld a,10
.endif

In the first pass, x would still be zero, so ld a,10 wouldn't be assembled. In the second pass, x would be one, so ld a,10 would attempt to be assembled and break the synchronisation between passes. Of course, I could block assignments, but then you would get another problem:

Code:
.function x()
    .db "Hello"
.endfunction

.echoln x()


Quote:
If you mean that you'll include it in the distribution then I think that's a good idea.
It could only really be for debugging purposes, eg "RunLoc en-US Brass Project.xml".

Quote:
Make sure I don't forget a stay on top checkbox (or set it by default).
I mainly suggested this because it takes a long time (uh... 5 secs, yes I am that impatient) to start Brass, so if it were possible to keep it in RAM, that should speed up loading time.
Hehe, OK. :)

I could of course mention the fact that the source code is available in the zip, so if you want to have a go at writing your own front-end to rebuild projects (and maybe launch a debugger or something for you) take a look at the bundled projects and the .chm Brass class library reference.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 26 Jan, 2008 1:26 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 395
Location: $4080
benryves wrote:
I could of course mention the fact that the source code is available in the zip, so if you want to have a go at writing your own front-end to rebuild projects (and maybe launch a debugger or something for you) take a look at the bundled projects and the .chm Brass class library reference.
Hmm...

Btw, I'm missing .relocate, .endrelocate, .deflong and .enddeflong?
Did I missed something?

EDIT: Ah yes, .macro replaced .deflong, correct?
EDIT2: And for .relocate I need to modify the program counter (but leave the output counter alone)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan, 2008 11:29 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Hm, sorry, I found a couple of label resolution bugs but have not thoroughly tested the fix yet. :\

.relocate/.endrelocate haven't been implemented (but, as you say, changing $ should be enough). There is no .deflong, but .macro or .function should do the trick!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb, 2008 12:57 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 395
Location: $4080
Now I'm confused, in which thread am I supposed to post bug reports now? :P

anyway, not really a bug, just an inconvenience.
If you forget an end quote (of a string) then brass thinks the next lines are all part of the string.
This might be intended, but a warning would be better I think.
Code:
Duplicate label 'bytes'.
   .include "XBall\\engine.inc

.echoln "XBall:      ", $-start_of_code, " bytes (engine: ", engine.size, " bytes)."
.endmodule

;====================
; End of file
;====================


Also while writing this I found out that brass is too attached to shortcut keys, ctrl-c doesn't work, neither does right clicking. Drag and drop does work however. :mrgreen:

Suggestion: It might be interesting if brass gave a warning if a local label stretches multiple files.
Something like this:
Quote:
File "file1.txt"
Code:
-  jp +

File "file2.txt"
Code:
+  jp -
Is perfectly valid and could cause some severe headaches ;)
(same for modules/sections etc.)

More on that:
Code:
-  jp {-}
gives an error... I haven't tested it in an expression however. (brass 3 doesn't like the {})

EDIT: the forum also formats text wrong in quotes if that quote includes code :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb, 2008 1:45 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
You should really use the other thread for bug reports (this is a pretty much a dead thread).

Strings constants continuing past the end of the line is by design, maybe I could C#-ise this capability with an @ sign in front of the string, eg:

Code:
.db @"This
is
a
multiline
string", 0


I disabled all shortcut keys in IE again, I think I need to reenable them again and hopefully it'll work this time..!

Triggering an event when you leave the current file (when assembling) could be used to detect cross-file problems I suppose. Reusable labels could be an especially big problem. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt