MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec, 2006 9:10 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
I managed to track down download links for the various parts of the IDE ('t would be nice if you guys had a consolidated page with links to everything.....)

anywho, downloaded it all, and extracted. However now they all give error messages resembling this (the icon and appname are different of course but its all the same style message--also, this is running WinXP pro with the .NET 2.0 Framework installed.)

Image

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec, 2006 11:33 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
I'm working on a tool (MAU v2) which downloads all tools (PindurTI, Latenite, Earlymorning, etc.) for you.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Dec, 2006 1:13 am 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
that oughta be helpful....as it stands though I can't even run MAU v1, so any suggestions on how to actually get my downloaded stuff usable?

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Dec, 2006 1:23 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
That icon in the top left reminds me of the dialogue you get when a Release build project throws an unhandled exception, but the icon is usually on the left and the program icon is not seen...

Where are you extracting the program to? Do you have full read/write access to its directory? (Try a subdirectory of My Documents - it stores project files in a subdirectory under the main executable, so will not run inside Program Files - this will be remedied).

Missing .NET runtimes just spew the usual missing DLL error message, so it does indeed look like .NET 2.0 is there - do other .NET 2.0 apps run?

Try this, if you will.

Go to the directory %windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727

(The version might be slightly different). Now, create a new file in Notepad, and paste in this code:
Code:
using System;
using System.Windows.Forms;

public class Test {

    public static void Main() {
        MessageBox.Show("It lives!");
    }

}
Save it into that .NET folder you should have open, then open a command prompt and enter:
Code:
csc test.txt

...where test.txt is the file you just made. It'll spit out an executable. If you run that executable, it should pop up a message box.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Dec, 2006 2:57 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
you version numbering was correct. the code compiled fine, however when run it showed a cmd window briefly before popping up with the error message show earlier. Also i just remembered i have .net based autoupdater for another game that also shows this message.

[edit]

i am installing it to c:\program files\latenite, however i am an administrator on the computer and have write access. also, the other autoupdater mentioned above is in a subdirectory of my documents and experiences the same issue.

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Dec, 2006 3:18 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Sounds like your .NET installation is buggered, then. There's not much scope for bugs in that snippet I posted. :)

Here's the redist version of 2.0 - you could try reinstalling it.

Beta versions of the .NET framework can break things, but given that your version number matches mine it shouldn't be a problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 12 Dec, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
I did the repair installation however it seems that the problem still exists :(

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 10:34 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
elfprince13 wrote:
I did the repair installation however it seems that the problem still exists :(
You said XP Pro - I assume that's XP Pro SP2?
I can only suggest uninstalling .NET 2.0 runtimes completely, rebooting, then doing a full reinstall.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 12:21 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
benryves wrote:
elfprince13 wrote:
I did the repair installation however it seems that the problem still exists :(
You said XP Pro - I assume that's XP Pro SP2?
I can only suggest uninstalling .NET 2.0 runtimes completely, rebooting, then doing a full reinstall.


yes, SP2...alright, I guess thats what Ill have to do.

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 12:26 pm 
Offline
MCF Legend

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
Posts: 1601
Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
Just in parentheses, it can run on SP1 too.

_________________
The Independent Z80 Assembly Guide
Acelgoyobis
PindurTI


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 4:37 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
wootz, got everything fixed.

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 4:39 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Glad to hear it. :) Sorry if Latenite and Brass feel a little flaky. I'm slowly working on them, but I have no real free time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec, 2006 4:47 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot
User avatar

Joined: Sun 11 Dec, 2005 2:21 am
Posts: 234
its allright, I know exactly how that feels.....
i just decided after all the amazing screenshots Ive seen that I should finally try them out.

_________________
Vermont Sustainable Heating Initiative || my author profile


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt