MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:20 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
It shouldn't do, as it wouldn't be able to evaluate labels during the first pass correctly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:24 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
it does though.


Last edited by King Harold on Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:30 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Not on my machine:
Code:
Brass Z80 Assembler 1.0.4.8 - Ben Ryves 2005-2006
-------------------------------------------------
Assembling...
Pass 1 complete. (328ms).
'This is a test of .echo'
Pass 2 complete. (31ms).
Writing output file...
Errors: 0, Warnings: 0.
Done!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:33 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
hm, it doesnt do it anymore, or maybe I didn't read it carefully enough..
It does, however, echo twice, once in pass 2 and once.. after it is done..? odd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:36 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Is this in Latenite or on the command line?
Latenite collects the output messages from an error reporting XML file, and so probably displays it multiple times - once as Brass is run (Brass displays in the output window) and once afterwards (when decoding the error log).

The fact that the two run on different threads mean that the order of events might be a little shuffled.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan, 2007 1:38 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
oh that's why..
ok then :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan, 2007 1:21 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Here's a bug: I tried to debug a multi-page app compiled with Latenite/brass and it gave me this error:
Quote:
Could not get debugger start information:
Unexpected end of file has occured. The following elements are not closed: module,brass. line 3675, position 1.

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan, 2007 2:12 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I think more information is required on this front. It may not be a bug with BRASS; it might be a problem with your source.

Would you be able to post your code for us to look at?

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan, 2007 11:39 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
That sounds like an XML-related bug. Could you attach (don't post, it'll be huge) the XML debug log from the \Compile directory?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan, 2007 4:43 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
How do I attach files?

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 15 Jan, 2007 12:07 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Well, I say attach, but I don't think we have said forum mod installed yet. You could email it to me, I guess.

Do you still get the error?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 16 Jan, 2007 4:17 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Yes, I do. I also noticed this little doosie when I compiled any code that should work:
Output screen wrote:
Assembling...
Pass 1 complete. (650ms).
Pass 2 complete. (80ms).
Writing output file...
Errors: 0, Warnings: 0.
Writing error log...
Writing debug log...
Writing list file...
Error: Could not write list file (The given key was not present in the dictionary.).
Done!
------ Build Process Complete ------
========== Build: 0 errors, 0 warnings ==========

note that this happens whenever I compile any truely compile-able code regardless of compile script, debug, file format, etc.

Could this be the cause of my problems (note that still sends single-page apps and programs to the calculator correctly)?

Edit: I've sent you the template I a have created to make multi-page apps.

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 16 Jan, 2007 11:44 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
"The given key was not present in the dictionary." is a known bug, and the list file writing code is an abomination, so I haven't tracked down what exactly is causing it.

I received your email, and will look at it tonight. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan, 2007 10:44 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
You were quite right, it was a bug in Brass. The branch table code was creating a new label, and for some reason it wasn't being populated with a filename. When the debug file was written, it tried to make sense of an empty filename so threw an error, leaving you with an empty log.
I've done a quick fix - see if this works for you.

In TI-83 Plus (Application).cmd, the line:

Code:
SET EXTENSION=8xp


needs to be modified to

Code:
SET EXTENSION=8xk


In the debug script,

Code:
send-file %DEBUG_BINARY%.8xk


...should therefore be just

Code:
send-file %DEBUG_BINARY%


To test, I used your template and added the following code:

Page0.asm
Code:
; ===============================================================
; Test Page 1
; ===============================================================

Main

 bcall(_ClrLCDFull)
 bcall(_Page1_Main) ; Off-page call
 bcall(_GetKey)

 bjump(_JForceCmdNoChar)           ; Exit


Page1.asm
Code:
Page1_Main
 ld hl,3+5*256
 ld (curRow),hl
 ld hl,TestString
 ld de,op1
 rst rMOV9TOOP1
 ld hl,op1
 bcall(_PutS)
 ret

TestString
.db "Hello",0


Hit F5, and it runs in PTI. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan, 2007 11:08 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue 28 Mar, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Thanks, it works now.

_________________
Please "encourage" me to work more on Image any way you deem necessary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt