MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 1:52 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
See for more info the main topic. This topic is used for progress updates and discussion

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 1:58 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
This should come in handy a LOT. Im betting other projects are going to want to use this.

Very clever and intuitive idea, will be good for keeping ontop of the builds :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar, 2006 3:07 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
Yes, great idea :)
I'll write a few API update thingies for this when I get my hands on it.

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar, 2006 10:05 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 5:33 pm
Posts: 790
Location: On the dark side of the moon.
Haha great idea :) kv! Things are getting professional around here.

_________________
"They say that sea was created by a man named Maarten Zwartbol, a long time ago...." - Duck, an old Corbin version


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar, 2006 12:23 pm 
Offline
Calc Master

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
I'm sorry, I have a couple nitpicks.

kv83 wrote:
(All tags in xml are case-sensitve at the moment. Sorry! )


If you change that... it's no longer XML. XML is SUPPOSED to be case sensitive. Don't go changing your parser so it isn't!

Also, you need a DTD for it to be valid, as well.


Otherwise, it looks like a great idea. I'll mess around a bit more later.

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar, 2006 12:34 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
AndySoft wrote:
kv83 wrote:
(All tags in xml are case-sensitve at the moment. Sorry! )


If you change that... it's no longer XML. XML is SUPPOSED to be case sensitive. Don't go changing your parser so it isn't!
Making the parser accept invalid XML doesn't make the XML file any less valid, it just makes the parser handle errors better. Would you rather have something that complained at you if someone made their XML file noncompliant, or would you rather have it handle it for you cleanly?

Accepting standards is fine, it's what something does when something isn't (and, let's face it, the vast majority of stuff isn't) standards-compliant that makes or breaks it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar, 2006 12:53 pm 
Offline
MCF Legend

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
Posts: 1601
Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
benryves wrote:
Would you rather have something that complained at you if someone made their XML file noncompliant, or would you rather have it handle it for you cleanly?

Yes to the first question. Browsers accepting malformed code all the way is why HTML is such a mess in the first place, I wouldn't call that 'clean'. It's a massive lesson to learn from. Besides, producing well-formed, compliant XML isn't hard at all, so why not do it properly from the beginning?

_________________
The Independent Z80 Assembly Guide
Acelgoyobis
PindurTI


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul, 2006 11:25 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
I wrote a script tonight to generate the server side XML file from a directory structure, which can save you a lot of time. Download:
http://timendus.student.utwente.nl/docs/dls/update.zip

Every directory in the same directory as the script will be seen as a seperate version. Each one of these directory names has to begin with "version" (or seven other characters) followed by a version number. If a changelog.txt file is present in the version directory it will be used as an update description for this update. Any other changelog.txt files in subdirectories will be ignored and every other file will be part of the update along with it's directory structure.

You'll have to make an application XML file yourself and point it to the update.php script on your server like so:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<app>
  <Title>Your program name</Title>
  <Version>1.0</Version>
  <URL>http://www.myserver.com/myaccount/update/update.php</URL>
</app>


A hint: Don't upload WinXP's Thumbs.db because it will end up in the XML and the MC updater will not like it.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions.

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug, 2006 4:11 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
well, i tried to use the autoupdater for earlymorning, but it gave me an error.
The error said the proccess can't continue because it can't access earlymorning.xml.
Details wrote:
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86\Desktop\earlymorning.0.3.0.0\Data\earlymorning.xml' because it is being used by another process.
at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy)
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share)
at System.Xml.XmlDocument.Save(String filename)
at MC_AutoUpdate.App.set_Version(String value)
at MC_AutoUpdate.FRM_Main.Update_App(App CUR_App)
at MC_AutoUpdate.FRM_Main.BTN_Update_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
MC AutoUpdate
Assembly Version: 0.1.0.1
Win32 Version: 0.1.0.1
CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86/Desktop/earlymorning.0.3.0.0/MC%20AutoUpdate.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINNT/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug, 2006 5:47 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
For now; try to delete your earlymorning.xml and re-download it from the 0.3.0.0 package. I'll look into it asap, though it worked with me when I uploaded it :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug, 2006 6:08 pm 
Offline
Calc Master

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
Jim e wrote:
Details wrote:
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7367A44D86\Desktop\earlymorning.0.3.0.0\Data\earlymorning.xml' because it is being used by another process.

(Emphasis mine).

Sounds to me like either whatever you used to download the file still has it open, or something. I don't know, but that's something to look into. :)

_________________
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug, 2006 8:44 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
I have already an idea which it could be. I guess Jim tried to update from 0.3.0.0 to 0.3.0.2, therefor he has to change the .xml twice. First time to set it to 0.3.0.1 and the 2nd time to set it to 0.3.0.2. Only problem is that it doesn't close it propably the 1st time.

So in general it's the same what you're thinking, andysoft.

I'm feeling to sick to lock into it right now though

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Aug, 2006 3:11 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
I tried updating with a fresh 0.3.0.0 , and it updated it fine. So I can't regenerate that error and therefor not fix it right now ... should be something on your side. I'll implement a check in the next version to check whether the file is in use or not though

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Aug, 2006 4:00 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
well I used it to do 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 -> (reboot) -> 3.0.2, But 3.0.2 gave me that error. Maybe I'm not up to date with .net.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Aug, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Jim e wrote:
well I used it to do 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 -> (reboot) -> 3.0.2, But 3.0.2 gave me that error. Maybe I'm not up to date with .net.
I doubt it. This is very strange. Maybe you got some virus setting random files to locked :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt