EarlyMorning - Progress & Discussion

One suite to code them all. An complete IDE and assembler for all your z80 projects!

Moderators: benryves, kv83

Post Reply
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Also for Sigma's inexplicable routine, the sprite and masked must be interlaced.
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

@tr1p1ea: Ok. that's possible
@Jim E: Yes, the mask data can be "accesed" seperatly from the sprite data. So instead of:

Code: Select all

#:Kirby:
;[KirbySprites].[Title]
#For 0 to $[KirbySprites].[Amount]
[KirbySprites].*.[Data]
[KirbySprites].*.[MaskData]
#Next
you would do this

Code: Select all

#:Kirby:
;[KirbySprites].[Title]
#For 0 to $[KirbySprites].[Amount]
[KirbySprites].*.[MaskData]
[KirbySprites].*.[Data]
#Next
The submaps will be done defintly. Not in the next release, but maybe in the release after that. It's quite a challenge and I have to investigate a little further :)

@3fg: I know. That's already possible (for 1bit)
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Ok, here's in an update: I just finished the Flag feature. Following things are done:
* FT: A "property"-tab, where you can change the properties of the different items. (At the moment only the title).
* FT: New external tool option: "build" .
* FT: Autosize window.
* FT: Masked sprite support for 1bit (two different dataformats) and 2bit.
* FT: 0, 1 or 3 flags for maps.

And this still needs to be done for the next beta release:
* PL: Buildscript Wizard.
* PL: Import a sprite from a bitmap.

So we're almost there! :D
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Bad news: Unfortunatly there are some strange things happening when I'm trying to import, and some nasty things coming with it. I have to push that feature to the next release :'( .

Good news: This leaves me with only one feature, which is almost finished: The Buildscript wizard. After that is done, i'll upload the version. Hooray!
Image
User avatar
Jim e
Calc King
Posts: 2457
Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Contact:

Post by Jim e »

So how goes the project? Has map compression been brought up?
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Map Compression will defently one of the feature's included. In fact, one is already supported (ByObject). I just need to figure out how to do a good RLE compression :)

The project is running fine at the moment. I'm finishing it up at the moment, doing some better error-handling and optimizing the Buildscript Wizard :)
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

I uploaded the new version. I hope some of you guys will check it out, since I want to get it stable as soon as possible. Bugs are only encountered if people are actually working with the tool ;) So help making it better!

Oh yeah; old buildscripts are not longer supported. Please use the included buildscript wizard to make new ones.

I'll update the Buildscript documentation as soon as possible with new information.

Oh yeah, I included an updated version of MAU, so next time you can update EarlyMorning with a click of a button, instead of doing it manually.

Also, if you worked with earlier versions, I hope you like the slightly improved UI. :)

(Last note: Please use a new fresh directory for EM! (or delete all old files))
Image
User avatar
Jim e
Calc King
Posts: 2457
Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Contact:

Post by Jim e »

I keep getting there is no build script error. am i using it wrong?

I unzipped it into a folder oin my desktop, was I suppose to do more?
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Ah, stupid me. I know what's wrong (without looking at the source). Go to the folder where your resource file is located. There should be two files; your .emr file and a buildscriptnew.txt ... create a new third (empty) file with the name "buildscript.txt". It should compile fine now.

The program searches for the buildscript.txt before compiling, however, for testing purposes, i changed the buildscript.txt to buildscriptnew.txt. All routines in the program uses this, except the check if a buildscript.txt is available :P

I'll put up a new version asap! Thanks for reporting!
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Ok, I uploaded a new version (0.3.0.1) which fixes the bug reported by Jim. It's available through AutoUpdate. Just start MAU, check for updated and click "update" :)

Alternativly, you can download the file here and copy it over your existing .exe ...

Please note that you should rename your buidscript from buildscript_new.txt to buildscript.txt
Image
User avatar
Jim e
Calc King
Posts: 2457
Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Contact:

Post by Jim e »

I like the build script, I see a lot of potential there. Tile data and mask output are fine, but map data doesn't output. Height, width, & length all do but not the data.


Feature request:

In contrast to how points on a map can be marked walkable with flag, I'd like each tile to have a value that I can use to either sort the tiles or at least being able to output that value to a table.

The reason I want to sort the tiles is that its faster and saves mem if certain tile types are in a range, Say 0-7 are all walkable, 8-15 are movable blocks, 16-23 are traps. But sometimes I need a new tiles and it would just be easier to sort a bunch and have them reflect the maps then to manual moveup slowly.
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

If I understand you correct (which I propably don't), do you want to have an (unique) ID in front of the data?

You could sort the tiles in EM, and I could make it so you can include it in the buildscript. That way data would look like this:

Code: Select all

.db 0 ;ID of sprite
.db 1010101 ;spritedata
...
.db 1011111
.db 1 ;ID of sprite
.db 1010101 ;spritedata
...
...
...
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Ok. Speedupdate :insane:

The bug reported by Jim is fixed in 0.3.0.2 aswell as the 'bug' that the Wizard isn't closing after the buildscript is made.

Use the updater to get 0.3.0.2 :) (or do a manual update with this file)

Thanks, Jim!
Image
User avatar
Jim e
Calc King
Posts: 2457
Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Contact:

Post by Jim e »

I went and got it manual since something is up the the autoupdater. I built and it worked. Except one thing to nitpick about, I don't think it will compile in tasm. Brass and spasm can probably handle it, but tasm doesn't like DB to have more than 16 bytes.

Code: Select all

;MapCollection - maps
maps:
;1. testmap
 .db 
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,4,4,4,4,4,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,3,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,4,4,4,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,0,0,0,3,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,2,2,0,0,3,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,2,2,0,0,3,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,
0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,2,2,0,0,3,3,3,3,0,0,0,0,0,0,
1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1
I put enters in there so not to break formating on the site.(surprisingly I guessed the width of the map. :roll: )
Image
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

I know about that problem. TASM is really a "not so friendly" compiler. I also know that it's not something I can fix in a couple of minutes, since it deep in my code. I'll see hwat I can do, though I encourage everyone to change to BRASS or spasm, which are better compilers imho
Image
Post Reply