MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 299 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan, 2007 6:38 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
I've been having...shall we say... "technical difficulties" with my laptop, and I'm afraid I have to migrate DCS6 development to a new computer with my most recent backup, December 12th. That's why I didn't get it out on time. Anyway, I installed Brass, set up wappsign's environment variable, yet whenever I try to start up Brass from either explorer.exe or from a command prompt, I get "The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000125). Click on OK to terminate the application." I seem to vaguely remember you mentioning to me at one point needing a VB6 library of some sort in order to make it work - is that what the problem is? A missing lib?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan, 2007 7:41 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Well, vb6 was used in the old "Z80 Workshop"... you now require at least .NET 2.0 framework :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan, 2007 10:54 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
.NET 3.0 Runtimes

Quote:
...installs the common language runtime...
.NET 3.0 is based around .NET 2.0 with a few additions to the class library so it should cover all .NET 2.0 apps as well. I don't know whether it covers .NET 1.0/1.1 though.

Confusingly I believe 3.5 will add new language features, so who knows WTF is up with Microsoft's version numbering system.

(Incidentally, the reason you get that rather unhelpful error is the nature of .NET applications. They are distributed as CIL, but the Microsoft compilers wrap that CIL in an EXE with a small bootstrapper for the runtimes - if you are missing the runtimes, the bootstrapper fails, and hence the error message).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan, 2007 2:02 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
Superb, all is well once more. Thanks guys. :)

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar, 2007 12:48 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Hey Ben, im loving Brass atm.

One thing, it seems that Brass is assembling the instructions 'OR IYL' and 'OR IYH' to the same instruction. Namely they are both being assembled as 'OR IYH'.

Code:
OR IYL is .db $FD,$B5
OR IYH is .db $FD,$B4


Took me a little while to figure it out, but thats what i get for using undocumented instructions :).

I have been able to get around it by just coding the opcode bytes directly, so its no big deal.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Last edited by tr1p1ea on Wed 21 Mar, 2007 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar, 2007 12:59 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
I'll look into it. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar, 2007 11:40 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Brass 1.0.4.10 (should be fixed).
Also had a look at list files; they seem to be working.

Let me know if you find any other oddities.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar, 2007 2:04 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Cool Ben! Listing works just fine now :).

I was wondering if you could check the .align instruction ... i seem to be having problems with it, more specifically aligning to a 256byte boundry with '.align 256'. The listing file would show that it is aligned, but when i view the contents of the page in PindurTI, that doesnt seem so. It appears that the padding may split the data at the beginning a little.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar, 2007 3:07 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
You could try manually, ie
Code:
.org ($ + $00FF) & $FF00
...and seeing if that helps.

If there is a bug, chances are its in the Intel Hex output rather than the actual align directive (you could verify by outputting a binary and looking for your data in a hex editor)..? I rely on it quite heavily for 256-byte aligned tables, and not had a problem yet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul, 2007 10:10 am 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
There appears to be a problem with .defpage, Brass 1.0.4.10 complains that .defpage should have 2 to 3 arguments, but what about the 4th argument (origin) ?

edit: nvm that, wrong documentation in LateNite..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul, 2007 1:07 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Sorry, the docs are out of date. I also have to look into this .align bug with apps :\


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul, 2007 12:38 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Hi, could someone having the .align problem send me some sample source code?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul, 2007 10:33 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
1.0.4.11 adds a warning if the two passes go out of synch due to an instruction/label parser bug. It doesn't "fix" the parsing bug, but it does report the line and file that has caused the problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep, 2013 2:34 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
It's been a while since I posted here, but there have been some updates to Brass:

  • 1.0.5.2 - .branch directive no longer aligns to 3-byte boundaries.
  • 1.0.5.1 - defined() function allows you to check whether macros are defined without needing to nest/duplicate .ifdef directives.
  • 1.0.5.0 - .appheaderpadding directive to change the application header padding (defaults to 128 bytes, allows you to reduce the size of the header and free up some space on the first page).

Download the latest version from the Brass website.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 299 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt