MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec, 2004 5:33 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Hi, just to let you guys know that i am still coding, i thought i would post this. Last week i was bored so i whipped up this ... a 3D WireFrame rendering program.

It only renders lines, nothing is filled or anything so dont get too excited ... plus there is need for some optimisation. Anyway here are some screenshots:

Image Image

Its supposed to be a crude model of an X-Wing Fighter :).

Anyway it runs a little better on-calc than in the screen (its definately not as jumpy).

Also this will NOT eventuate into a game or anything, i am really just fooling around a little :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Last edited by tr1p1ea on Sat 21 Jul, 2007 3:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec, 2004 4:25 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Oh yes i forgot, you can also try this:

http://users.tpgi.com.au/adslmpxk/Files/wFrame.8xp

Its the crude X-Wing demo :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec, 2004 9:07 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 5:33 pm
Posts: 790
Location: On the dark side of the moon.
I've always liked these 3d demos but yeah it might be unfeasible to transform them into a good game :? .

_________________
"They say that sea was created by a man named Maarten Zwartbol, a long time ago...." - Duck, an old Corbin version


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec, 2004 1:16 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 8:20 pm
Posts: 86
Could you post the source code, or at least the math needed to represent a point in 3D space on a 2D screen? I have been wanting to play around with 3D on the calc.

You say it couldn't work for a real game? I would think wireframe graphics would be great for an NBA jam type game. The players could be wireframe stickmen, and the mode-7 style floor used in the real game could be faked with a 3D vector plane.
Perhaps that's demanding a little too much from the 83+? It would be fun to at least try.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 31 Dec, 2004 4:11 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 10:22 pm
Posts: 745
Location: Wandering around in the Jungle...
Wow...very cool Tr1p! A neat little demo thingy! :D

_________________
The Revolution is here...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan, 2005 4:04 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
heh, i dont think it will turn into much more, maybe just a wireframe model viewer :).

Also w00t, 100th post! :twisted:.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 02 Jan, 2005 7:58 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 10:16 pm
Posts: 49
Neato tr1p! :)

_________________
Revolution Software - http://www.revsoft.org


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 12:25 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sun 19 Dec, 2004 11:19 pm
Posts: 59
Whoa... Cool. It's not bad. I'm guessing you used vectors...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 3:46 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Stickmanofdoom,
converting 3d croods to 2d is pretty simple.

screen x = ( x * eye) / ( z + eye )
screen y = ( y * eye ) / ( z + eye )

eye is the dist the viewer is from the screen.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 7:22 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 4:23 am
Posts: 26
Location: Ohio
Very cool. Do models have to have every line hand entered?

_________________
You've seen the posts, now see the sites!
http://hiddenuniverse.blogspot.com
http://teoryn.deviantart.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 8:29 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Well, atm it will just read an array of values and draw the lines. An example is:

Code:
CubeModel:
   .dw 12               ; Number of lines in model

   .db 10,10,10,-10,10,10         ; x3D1, y3D1, z3D1, x3D2, y3D2, z3D2
   .db -10,10,10,-10,10,-10
   .db -10,10,-10,10,10,-10
   .db 10,10,-10,10,10,10

   .db 10,-10,10,-10,-10,10
   .db -10,-10,10,-10,-10,-10
   .db -10,-10,-10,10,-10,-10
   .db 10,-10,-10,10,-10,10

   .db 10,10,10,10,-10,10
   .db -10,10,10,-10,-10,10
   .db -10,10,-10,-10,-10,-10
   .db 10,10,-10,10,-10,-10

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 9:10 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Maybe you should make a model editor, tr1p. That'd be awesome.. a 3d modeler on the calc :shock:

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 10:31 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
An on-clac modeler, now that would be some awsome code. That matt 3d designer is kinda tough to work with. I ended up writing 53 lines worth of croods on paper just to make a plane. I think I'll stick cubes till something better comes along.
Man, PAPER, what is this the dark ages, forced to use papyrus. poor trees.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 4:37 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 8:20 pm
Posts: 86
Thanks for the math, jim e. I'll see what I can do with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 9:10 pm 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:38 am
Posts: 228
Looks nifty. I see the coordinates are 1 byte, that must have eased coding.

Do you know how fast/slow it is against that 3d engine in the making? I think I forgot the name of it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt