MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [Featured][Dev] F-Zero
PostPosted: Wed 07 May, 2008 10:35 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
Some of you have seen the screenshots floating around on IRC. Now, it's official! Check out the project forum here.

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 08 May, 2008 4:15 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Wow that is looking incredible, its amazingly fast!

Are you using any neat tricks for speed increases?

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 08 May, 2008 10:51 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
tr1p1ea wrote:
Wow that is looking incredible, its amazingly fast!

Are you using any neat tricks for speed increases?
For one thing, I'm using the BC, DE, and HL normal and shadow registers for the innermost loop. Also, a bit of SMC. I have decreased the quality since the earlier versions, which almost doubled the speed. :D

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 09 May, 2008 12:33 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Posts: 579
Location: Chicago!
How did you decrease the quality?

_________________
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 09 May, 2008 2:34 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
Dwedit wrote:
How did you decrease the quality?
I pretty much made the resolution 48x64 and stretched it. :P Slightly more than half the calculation needed as before.

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 09 May, 2008 2:38 am 
Offline
Calc Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri 04 Mar, 2005 12:52 am
Posts: 1069
Location: NW Wisconsin
It always helps to look at the big picture. :)

_________________
My diet consists of nails, code-stealers, and HP fans.
Projects:

Robot War [TI-82, TI Flash App]
Sonic the Hedgehog [Multiplatform]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 09 May, 2008 6:20 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Posts: 579
Location: Chicago!
Halving the horizontal resolution is what they did in Doom (if you selected Low Quality Mode), also Doom on the GBA.

_________________
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 09 May, 2008 6:57 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
Also, the lower quality will be even less noticeable once I add objects, because the sprites are going to be normal resolution. :)

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 10 May, 2008 2:10 am 
Offline
Calc Guru

Joined: Thu 27 Oct, 2005 8:28 pm
Posts: 962
calc84maniac wrote:
Dwedit wrote:
How did you decrease the quality?
I pretty much made the resolution 48x64 and stretched it. :P Slightly more than half the calculation needed as before.


ingenious!

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 12 May, 2008 5:09 am 
Offline
Calc Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri 04 Mar, 2005 12:52 am
Posts: 1069
Location: NW Wisconsin
What kind of resources did you use to set up the 3D engine? (Not many tutorials on that kind of subject out there)

_________________
My diet consists of nails, code-stealers, and HP fans.
Projects:

Robot War [TI-82, TI Flash App]
Sonic the Hedgehog [Multiplatform]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 12 May, 2008 8:59 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
I'm not really sure where I first got the algorithm idea. I think it might have come from a raycasting tutorial (because this uses the same idea as raycasting but with each pixel, not just each column).

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: F-Zero
PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov, 2008 4:54 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
I've been working on this a bit, and I think I have the sprite-coordinate-getter-finder-thingamajig working... finally...

Right now I'm displaying one of 3 sprites depending on how far away you are... which makes it look a bit strange, but at least that's how the 68K version did it. Also, I only have the sprite from the back, so it looks a bit odd without rotation. I hope to get a scaled sprite routine working so I can display the ship at any size, but if that ends up too slow, I'll be sticking with the fixed set of sizes.

Anyway, here's the screenshot goodies!
Image

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: F-Zero
PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov, 2008 10:44 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Looks to be working properly, terrific stuff! :).

Using fixed sprites would be ok, the speed gain would probably be worth it.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: F-Zero
PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov, 2008 12:22 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 143
Yes, the only available scaped sprite routine (by Badja) is really slow, although it seems optimal. Maybe caching can help, but that requires some sort of garbage collecting, and if you have a lot of different sprites you will need a lot of ram.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: F-Zero
PostPosted: Mon 10 Nov, 2008 12:48 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I believe he has written his own sprite scaler, but im not sure how it will adapt to this project.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt