MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [Staff][Dev] Fractals
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 11:32 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
I suppose Announce Your Projects is as close as this topic will get.. it's not technically a project really, just a little thing to toy with. Fractals are cool, and I just learned what they were last week. After researching a bit, I kinda figured out how to graph them.. so I made a simple little program to graph Mendalbrot's fractal in BASIC. Check out the screenies (first three on the left are stretched for the whole screen, second three are proportional).

Image Image

Image Image

Image Image

Image

First at the top is drawn from 6 iteration checks, second is from 8 iterations, and third is 15 iterations. I can't go past 15 because of TI-OS limits (unless I stored values myself and calculated them). Don't expect an ASM version, I don't plan on doing that. I just learned what fractals were, and I got bored tonight so I made this. Have fun :) Oh, and the last pic is a zoomed in render (I'll get to work on the engine later so you can put in custom values and such). I'm not giving animated screenshots because it takes about 3-5 minutes to render a 15 iteration check picture in VTI without speed restriction :shock: But hey, it works.

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Last edited by DarkAuron on Mon 29 Aug, 2005 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 5:19 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Wow, you really did end up getting it to look cool!

Nice work DarkAuron :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 5:42 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:44 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Earth...currently...
I see a pink bunny in a blue field of snowflakes :D

_________________
I'd rather be a nobody remembered by someone than a somebody remembered by noone.

'Boku' can't save the world - Blaze Rennaul
--'Boku' doesn't have to... - Klyne Ryuuno
Blue World - Coming soon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 5:45 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 3:24 am
Posts: 147
Hmmm... after seeing these screen shots I decided to search ticalc for a fractal program that I had seen before. As it turns out, there are more than I had expected, but of the ones I saw, this looked like the best one for the 83+ in the archives.

Looks like someone beat you DarkAuron, but don't get discouraged about your programming! :)

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 6:31 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Well there have been fractal generators on calc for years. But that is certainly no reason to stop making them :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 6:54 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Well, like I said, it wasn't a project or anything, just a little stab at creativity. I didn't wanna sleep, I wanted to graph fractals >:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 10:13 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 11:09 pm
Posts: 479
tr1p1ea wrote:
Well there have been fractal generators on calc for years. But that is certainly no reason to stop making them :).

Its like that little random number thing. You know the Input "",A A+rand, Disp A thing? Everyone makes those even though you can prolly get it on the internet

_________________
Image

Pongwars shall live!

blog is down atm. :-(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 14 Feb, 2005 11:12 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
tr1p1ea wrote:
Well there have been fractal generators on calc for years. But that is certainly no reason to stop making them :).


Definitely! Fractals are cool, making them yourself is even cooler. 8)
Quote:
Looks like someone beat you DarkAuron, but don't get discouraged about your programming!

Yeah, but it's not a race. Besides, I'm gonna do something I don't think that program has: shading! So my fractals might be lookin' pretty soon, who knows :P

My creation can give thanks to the people in #tcpa; if it weren't for them, I wouldn't know about fractals for some time.. Oh and (1)these (2)crazy (3)links!

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 1:42 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Sorry for double posting, but I gotta say that yesterday my calc decided to slow to a halt and bring up the blue screen of destruction (SE does a full blue screen, as opposed to blue lines in the regular ti-83+) while I was messing with my program, which leads me to believe that the TI-OS has a memory leak after doing a few hundred thousand BASIC calculations non-stop. O.o I've been a bit scared off from working on fractals since then..

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 4:32 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard

Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 680
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Actually it is possible to get "a full blue screen" on a regular 83+.
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/242/24235.html

_________________
Blog, programming, life, yep
Free Ipod w/ video playback!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 4:44 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:44 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Earth...currently...
not sure if this is related or not, but does anyone else have little spots on their LCD screen on the inside? like ink or something exploded? i'm thinking that some of the screen got damaged on the inside thanks to my little brother

_________________
I'd rather be a nobody remembered by someone than a somebody remembered by noone.

'Boku' can't save the world - Blaze Rennaul
--'Boku' doesn't have to... - Klyne Ryuuno
Blue World - Coming soon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 5:13 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Test Mode can cause such damage to the LCD.

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 5:14 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:44 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Earth...currently...
za?
Test mode?

_________________
I'd rather be a nobody remembered by someone than a somebody remembered by noone.

'Boku' can't save the world - Blaze Rennaul
--'Boku' doesn't have to... - Klyne Ryuuno
Blue World - Coming soon


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 6:24 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Quoted from Learn TI-83 Plus Assembly in 28 Days, Day 25:
Quote:
Test Mode
This is a pretty useless feature, but you can really scare some people with it! By sending an instruction in the range $1C to $1F, you put the LCD driver into something called test mode, affectionately known as The Blue Lines of Death. In a nutshell, during test mode the liquid crystals are receiving an abnormal amount of energy. So much in fact that you get blue horizontal lines across the screen. Even weirder, the lines overflow out of each pixel cell (there are normally thin areas of blank space separating each pixel). By sending multiple test mode commands you can make more blue lines appear, potentially you can make the entire display blue.
To cancel test mode, send command $18. This will also set the contrast to its darkest.

Now that you know about test mode, please, don't use it. There is no way to make the BLODs appear on a specific row, nor can they be constrained. If you had any hopes of making some kind of waterfall animation, you can just as well forget about it.
As well, test mode is dangerous! If you leave the calculator in test mode for more than a minute, you risk damaging the LCD. Even a few seconds of BLODs may leave an imprint on the screen (not unlike phosphor burn-in when you forget your screen saver).

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 6:33 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Thats wierd, that's exactly what he did.
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/259/25987.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt