MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 611 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 41  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The New xLIB - An APP
PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr, 2005 8:22 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I thought i would just post some info about the new xLIB. I have decided to turn it into an APP so that i could change it so that it uses a parser hook to intercept real().

I only started it yesterday, so it only has a few functions ... but they have been imporved upon from the old version :).

ClearsScreen - Errr .... clears the screen
DrawSprite - Draws an 8x8 aligned sprite from ANY pic (pic0-pic9)
DrawMap - Draws a tilemap from ANY matrice (A-J) using ANY pic (pic0-pic9) as input for tiles. Maps can be drawn at ANY position on the screen and can be windowed from 1x1 to 12x8. Maps can also be offset for easy tile scrolling.
UpdateLCD - Updates the LCD. DrawSprite and DrawMap also have an option which lets you update the LCD or not.

And thats about it so far ... the additon of any pic and any matrice should please a few people.

I only just relaised that this now allows you to draw up to 10 individual tilemaps with scrolling at any position on the screen at the same time!!! A nifty side effect :).

Ill finish up some documentation and offer a release for testing purposes.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr, 2005 8:26 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 2286
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Basically we can now have 10 frames animated sprites... uh nevermind would take too much space, lol. Btw, will it be a bit faster than the old xLIB, I mean will it be possible to have 3 frames per second scrolling with 10 KB of free RAM?

_________________
ImageImage
Bandcamp|FB|Youtube|Twitter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr, 2005 8:29 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Well you could store all your frames in 1 matrice ... draw it windowed and use an offset to animate it ...

I have no idea how fast it is as i can only test it on an emulator ...

I was thinking about adding largesprite support ... but im not sure since it is possible to draw large sprites as tilemaps. If i add it, you will be restricted to having your sprite dimensions a multiple of 8.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 12:12 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Have you thought about having tiles and sprite in programs insteand of pics, and have the app it self have a drawing utillity. I would think that be kind of nifty.

So how do you plan on filling 16k, a whole bunch of goodies I hope.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 12:24 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
As far as tiles in a program i dont really see much of an advantage aside from the fact that it frees up some pic numbers ...

And yes i plan on filling it with as much useful stuff as possible ... i am not one to waste space :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 12:54 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
It'd be faster, save memory, more than 96 tiles. But then again, who uses more than 96 tiles anyway.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 1:21 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
I dont really see how it would be faster and save memory? finding a pic and a prgm are exactly the same and the data is stored identically ... ?

But yeah it would allow more than 96 tiles.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 1:47 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 2286
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Jim e wrote:
It'd be faster, save memory, more than 96 tiles. But then again, who uses more than 96 tiles anyway.
Dysfunction use over 1000 tiles in Aura and reuben quest uses over 500

_________________
ImageImage
Bandcamp|FB|Youtube|Twitter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 1:52 am 
Offline
Calc Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon 03 Jan, 2005 7:54 pm
Posts: 835
Location: out there. seriosly.
one of my friends who cant wait for TitanASM would be extremly interested in this. I will talk to him to see what he wnats.

_________________
Life is getting better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 2:00 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
500 ... 1000!?!?!?!!!!! Commercial games dont use that many!

Ok so they probably do, but still thats a lot of tiles :).

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 4:02 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Well if you only have two tiles it would waste 740 bytes, or you might need 97 tiles. And that reminds me pics dont use the last row, the data isn't there. So that could be a problem. But I just have a dislike for varibles you can't name, so you don't need to listen to me.


Oh but about it being faster, I was thinking of omnicalc.
You have to give the following for sprite(
Pic #
X pic
Y pic
X Screen
Y Screen
Height
width
Plus using real( you must define a number to do somethig(simp, sprite, play), Unless you want to replace alot more tokens.(bad Idea)
This is all waste. If pre-define or preload somethings then it could go alot faster. Really you would only need four vaules to use with sprite(.


Kevin wrote:
Jim e wrote:
It'd be faster, save memory, more than 96 tiles. But then again, who uses more than 96 tiles anyway.
Dysfunction use over 1000 tiles in Aura and reuben quest uses over 500
YOU"VE GONE MAD!!!!! 500 :shock: ......1000 :shock: :shock: :shock:
Are there even that many possible tiles, *thinks* 2^(8*8) ...hmmm....that's alot.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 5:01 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
Personally I think that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I can't see myself making more than 200 tiles..

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 6:33 am 
Offline
Calc Master

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 1064
Location: Probably playing DDR
Kevin wrote:
Jim e wrote:
It'd be faster, save memory, more than 96 tiles. But then again, who uses more than 96 tiles anyway.
Dysfunction use over 1000 tiles in Aura and reuben quest uses over 500
500...1000?
Why do you use that much tiles? How CAN you use that much tiles?

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 1:58 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
leofox wrote:
Kevin wrote:
Jim e wrote:
It'd be faster, save memory, more than 96 tiles. But then again, who uses more than 96 tiles anyway.
Dysfunction use over 1000 tiles in Aura and reuben quest uses over 500
500...1000?
Why do you use that much tiles? How CAN you use that much tiles?
With such a amount it would be wiser to just pre-draw every screen :P

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 2:01 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Thats a good point there kv :lol: :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 611 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 41  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt