A way to test for xlib instalation? What about a shell?

Moderator: tr1p1ea

Would it be neat to see xlib as a shell?

Yes
12
39%
No
4
13%
It'd be neat to see it combined with fast rpl or something similare
4
13%
I am not sure, how much work would it add to code my xlib games?
5
16%
I like burning
6
19%
 
Total votes: 31

User avatar
Spellshaper
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat 24 Dec, 2005 9:20 pm
Location: Freiburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Spellshaper »

kalan_vod wrote:Also we could make it where it creates a appvar for savegames!



found something for that, actually it can be used with any game you´re making :) :
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/344/34443.html
Image
PSYCALYPSE
Nigecha dame da!
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

Thanks, but I rather not have a pic set to the side just for using his little program :P as I have plenty of people to thank already. Also welcome to the boards!
necro
Calc King
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 2:45 am
Location: your shadow

Post by necro »

...actualy, only the shell maker would have to put that in their credits and use room on their flash page...but it seems like it be better to make a new prgram for it that'd be a little faster than 5-10 minutes on occasion.
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Re: A way to test for xlib instalation? What about a shell?

Post by threefingeredguy »

necro wrote:

Code: Select all

:1
:real(0
:If not(Ans
:Then
:ClrHome
:Disp "PLEASE INSTAL XLIB BEFORE TRYING TO RUN THIS GAME
:Pause
:End
:If not(Ans
:Stop
I now use this in every xLIB program. VERY good idea.
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: A way to test for xlib instalation? What about a shell?

Post by kalan_vod »

threefingeredguy wrote:
necro wrote:

Code: Select all

:1
:real(0
:If not(Ans
:Then
:ClrHome
:Disp "PLEASE INSTAL XLIB BEFORE TRYING TO RUN THIS GAME
:Pause
:End
:If not(Ans
:Stop
I now use this in every xLIB program. VERY good idea.

You might want to do

Code: Select all

:1
:real(0
:If not(Ans
:Then
:ClrHome
:Output(1,1,"PLEASE INSTAL XLIB BEFORE TRYING TO RUN THIS GAME
:Pause
:End
:If not(Ans
:Stop
threefingeredguy
Calc King
Posts: 2195
Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Location: sleeping
Contact:

Post by threefingeredguy »

Actually I do

Code: Select all

:1 
:real(0
:If not(Ans
:Then
:Output(1,1,"*--------------*-PLEASE INSTALL--     xLIB     -*--------------*
:Stop
:End
The Stop won't cause a memory leak there since it restores the program stack and exits. I think it also doesn't display Done.
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

threefingeredguy wrote:Actually I do

Code: Select all

:1 
:real(0
:If not(Ans
:Then
:Output(1,1,"*--------------*-PLEASE INSTALL--     xLIB     -*--------------*
:Stop
:End
The Stop won't cause a memory leak there since it restores the program stack and exits. I think it also doesn't display Done.

Correct, and thats what I do just wasn't sure if the leak was there or not thanks for confirming that.
katmaster
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue 09 Aug, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: south of the north pole
Contact:

Post by katmaster »

Quick question, what's the point of the :1 at the beginning?
cheese=yum
Image
User avatar
kalan_vod
Calc King
Posts: 2932
Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by kalan_vod »

I believe that real is affected by Ans if xlib isn't installed.
necro
Calc King
Posts: 1619
Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 2:45 am
Location: your shadow

Post by necro »

that is indeed the principal on which I based that
Post Reply