MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 5:57 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
all sprites on the bottom of sprite sheet have the bottom clipped off. i found this the hard way. i am making two suggestions.

instead of calling 84 and having it show a demented sprite, skip 84-95 where they are, and call it from where the current 96 would be.

HAVE THE ABILITY TO USE MORE SPRITES!!!!!! 288, 256 working sprites for a game of my caliber needs more.

i guess you can think of me as a tester, but the longer i wait for the fix, the longer i cant prgm zelda :cry:

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 6:09 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
It is impossible to have more than 256 tiles in 1 map without some MAJOR modifications. You can have more than 256 sprites etc ... just you cant have more than 256 'different' tiles in the same tilemap.

The bottom row getting clipped off is not my fault, it happens because when you save a PIC file the tios doesnt save the bottom row.

You can have more than 256 tiles and sprites in your game ... you just cant use them all at the same time.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 6:15 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
:( i guess ill hv to make a lot of changes...

i know its not your fault that they get clipped, im saying completely deny the user the use of those spots, since they are useless anyway.

good luck if you ever change this prgm :P

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 6:35 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
I'm confused, Why can't you have more than 256 tiles in 1 map? i mean your using a matrix right? So why the 8 bit limit, your in fp country, no?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 1:03 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
it reads in from the varkiable ypou store the sprite number to and lds it into a. a doesnt really accept values greater than 255 so you have a limited range. a really easy way to fix this is if the number you input is greater than 255 it loads from a different picture. maybe?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug, 2005 1:40 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
If you try loading a greater value I'm sure tr1p has a check that prevents it from accepting greater values, OR it just rolls over to 0. Then again I havn't really looked into xLIB so I wouldn't know.

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 12:33 am 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
yeah but what it SHOULD do is get the integer answer of (numberentered)/(255) and use that as the picture variable. like TIBASIC
Code:
int(231/255) is 0
or int(286/255) is 1

or asm load into hl and check the h for the pic number
Code:
;h=$01 l=$08  hl=263

w/e you get the picture.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 12:52 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
i've tried using a number greater than 255 and i know exactly what it does. it keeps minus-ing 256 til it gets in range. so 300 would yield pic sprite number 44 (asuming my math funct. is on today....)

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 12:55 am 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
but it SHOULD nvm no one seems to get it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 1:25 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
are you trying to say x=sprite
x-int(x/256)->x
(in basic)

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 1:48 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:53 pm
Posts: 1349
He means values 0-255 (or 1-256, I dunno how it works) would be Pic0, the next 256 would be Pic1, next 256 would be Pic2; they'd just roll onto the next pic if you exceed the value. Right? That'd be nice actually..

_________________
[Gridwars Score] - E: 1860037 M: 716641 H: 261194


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 3:06 am 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Wed 06 Jul, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 518
Location: 3rd rock....
???? first off, thats what he has; second, only 84 sprites are allowed per page

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 3:20 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Posts: 2457
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Guys, have you heard of mod?

Number mod 256 = some vaule between 0 and 255

Second, if I was tr1p I would just use TI pretty little _ConvOp1. That takes a value in op1 and puts it into DE. Then I would just use E and ignore D.

On any picture there is 96 tile(screw the last line thing), so

E div 96 = pic num
E mod 96 = tile num.

I don't know if later is what tr1p is doing but I still can't believe people are getting so huffy about it.

My point was, being in FP numbers I don't see a reason why he couldn't exceed 256 tiles with only minor modification.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 3:44 am 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
course we know mod x%a = remainder of x/a. but i wasnt sure if people would understand.

@DA (and all) That is EXACTLY what i meaant. great minds think alike? :D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug, 2005 4:27 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster

Joined: Tue 21 Dec, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 496
Location: WI
As crzybl said: When you go past the allotted number of sprites on Pic1 (8x12=96, minus 1 since it starts at 0) so when you go past 95 (I think) it goes to Pic2 etc.

_________________
Shaun


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt