MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat 06 Dec, 2008 11:21 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
Do we have a thread for that?
I couldn't find it (used search)

Well, I'll start off:
Image
If my upload speed doesn't go back up to 3Mbit/s soon I'll have to complain, I'm missing 7% for no apparent reason (it was there before, why should it disappear?)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun 07 Dec, 2008 12:04 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23 Apr, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 74
Location: Maine
Image

_________________
My ethicator machine must have had a built-in moral compromise spectral release phantasmatron! I'm a genius!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun 07 Dec, 2008 2:36 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Fairly standard residential connection:
Image
We have 2mb at work and that's more than fast enough. When I was at university the connection speed was limited by the 100mb ethernet, though that was only really usable when downloading from Microsoft - most other servers would cap at about 512kb.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec, 2008 12:29 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 395
Location: $4080
Image
Does it make a difference this was tested when I was connected wireless to our router?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec, 2008 1:05 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
I was connected wirelessly and got approximately the same result from speedtest as was reported on the router's web-based config screen.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec, 2008 7:50 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
Wireless... heh:
Image

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec, 2008 8:47 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Oct, 2008 1:42 am
Posts: 137
Location: Boise, Idaho
It seems like we are getting a, somewhat, downward trend in speeds here.

Image

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec, 2008 2:02 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23 Apr, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 74
Location: Maine
Wow, loooks like I'm the fastest by quite a margin. What kind of hookup do you guys get outside of the US? I get broadband cable through Cox. They advertise 3Mbit/s, and it looks like they're pretty darn close. Most things are throttled server-side, though, so not too much of an advantage.

_________________
My ethicator machine must have had a built-in moral compromise spectral release phantasmatron! I'm a genius!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec, 2008 2:18 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Bog standard ADSL here; "up to 8mb" is the standard residential speed. You can get faster (up to 40mb on Virgin) by paying to get fibre optic put in, but it's hardly worth it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec, 2008 2:40 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am
Posts: 1513
Cable, not the fastest though - the same ISP offers 30Mbit / 3Mbit (so only 10Mbit/s more download throughput - for a WAY higher price)
And IMO that's barely worth it, my d/l connection is rarely maxed out anyway and the upload speed and latency are much more important. Maybe someday when I want to download movies in 10 minutes instead of 15 minutes..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec, 2008 1:18 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
Let me break the trend :)

Image

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec, 2008 3:07 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23 Apr, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 74
Location: Maine
Wow, that's fast.

Ah, Amsterdam. That would explain it.

_________________
My ethicator machine must have had a built-in moral compromise spectral release phantasmatron! I'm a genius!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec, 2008 10:14 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
I think University Twente explains it rather more. ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec, 2008 10:56 am 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23 Apr, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 74
Location: Maine
Did it display the ISP before? I don't remember seeing that.

_________________
My ethicator machine must have had a built-in moral compromise spectral release phantasmatron! I'm a genius!
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec, 2008 2:11 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
Yep, it always has done.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt