Online Multiplayer Development

Feel like posting Off Topic? Do it here.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

thegamefreak0134
Extreme Poster

Online Multiplayer Development

Post by thegamefreak0134 »

In order to further my programming experience, I want to create an online multiplayer game, similar to a MMORPG. Although I doubt it will go anywhere (this is for practice with server side stuff and for the "so I can say I did this" factor) I would be happy to have two people be able to log on and walk around in the same 2D map.

I am completely new to the subject, and have looked at some various tutorials that completely overwhelm with info. I need stuff in smaller packets of information.

I have a server which I have full ftp access to (and a remote friend/programmer with fill access, its in his house) that I plan to use for testing purposes. With that in mind, what can you tell me about how to begin coding the server and client side software? I idealy want this to be something that will play in a browser, but if I need to make something standalone to begin with (So I can test locally) I can. I really just want to get the concepts down do I can design a reasonable engine.

If someone could either point out or link to some resources concerning developing online multiplayer of any kind (Preferably using C++ where possible) it would be extremely helpful. I know I'm taking on a huge task here, but I need the experience in this kind of thing.

Thanks for any info you have. Please do not discourage. If you tell me I can't do this, you're right. I don't intend to. I just want to make the engine, really. I'll let the rest of my programming team handle finishing the rest. (^_^)

-thegamefreak
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.
King Harold
Calc King

Post by King Harold »