MaxCoderz
http://maxcoderz.org/forum/

Using Greyscale for APPs
http://maxcoderz.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1547
Page 1 of 6

Author:  thegamefreak0134 [ Wed 15 Feb, 2006 5:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Using Greyscale for APPs

I was just wondering (based on the description in the downloads page) if it is possible to use this package to make an APP? It seems like it would be really usefull for my Pokemon Project. However, I only saw downloads for Ion games, which I don't believe is possible in an APP. Thanks!

Author:  threefingeredguy [ Wed 15 Feb, 2006 9:03 pm ]
Post subject: 

It's a bunch of include files and can be used in any assembly program or application.

Author:  KermMartian [ Wed 15 Feb, 2006 10:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

I tried to email him about including it as a built-in lib in DCS6, but he never responded. Any ideas?

Author:  threefingeredguy [ Wed 15 Feb, 2006 10:22 pm ]
Post subject: 

I was thinking that it should be included in a shell too.

Author:  Liazon [ Thu 16 Feb, 2006 12:52 am ]
Post subject: 

use API's / Jim e's RGP greyscale package? Still can't get it to work because I can no longer assemble.

Author:  KermMartian [ Thu 16 Feb, 2006 3:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

I'll talk to JimE then. Sounds like a plan.

Author:  thegamefreak0134 [ Thu 16 Feb, 2006 9:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

OK, thanks. The reason I asked was because it said something about using it to make ION programs, so I thought it was limeted to only those. I might take a look, depending on if the other engine i'm considering flops or not.

-gamefreak

Author:  Timendus [ Thu 16 Feb, 2006 10:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

You can't use Duck's gpp in an app without modifications. It uses self modifying code. I'm not sure about Jim's, but I guess it's pretty much the same. You'd have to rewrite a few parts to take out the smc, everything else is okay.

Author:  tr1p1ea [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 6:50 am ]
Post subject: 

Yeah, both Duck's and Jim e's grayscale packages use smc, so the only way to run them from an APP would be to copy the grayscale routine to a saferam area and run it from there (if you can afford to).

I think that Jim e has an SE only grayscale routine that doesnt use any smc.

Author:  KermMartian [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 3:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

It wouldn't be that hard to eliminate the smc; I could even just keep it within the app, using some random saferam for the few opcodes that are smc.

Author:  tr1p1ea [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 4:25 pm ]
Post subject: 

Smc is used to rotate the masks, it is also in a very speed crucial area. I dont think that copying to 'few opcodes' to a saferam area would be a good idea. An idea would be to copy the grayscale display routine to saferam and run it from there. It is a very simple task, you just have to make sure that NOTHING touches that saferam area.

Author:  thegamefreak0134 [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 5:05 pm ]
Post subject: 

Sounds goos to me. (1) Where can I get the package, and (2) How on earth do I go about copying code to saferam? I mean, wouldn't that mess up any labels and such?

Author:  KermMartian [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 7:39 pm ]
Post subject: 

1. Not sure - I'd like to know this to. JFGI didn't work.
2. You have to modify it to make labels relative to the beginning of saferam areas in use. For me, I'd have to let programmers know that using the grayscale libs would make certain saferam areas unusable.

Author:  lloydkirk1989 [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 9:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
Where can I get the package?

Hmm...why don't you do a search on ticalc.org?

Author:  thegamefreak0134 [ Fri 17 Feb, 2006 9:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

Or get it from the front page. That works too. I kicked myself when I saw it.

I still have concerns. It says something to the effect that you have to use it to develop ION games. Why is this so?

Page 1 of 6 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/