MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 10:28 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
Probably it uses some Ion routines.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 10:39 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
I don't believe so. I think it should work for any shell, as long as it works with the writeback.

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb, 2006 4:31 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4095
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Ducks sprite routines indeed use ion's ... but its an easy modification to make them shell independent. Jim e rewrote the sprite routines so that they are faster and smaller. You can check out his grayscale package here: http://www.revsoft.org/phpBB2/viewtopic ... 26&start=0

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb, 2006 3:02 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
tr1p1ea wrote:
Ducks sprite routines indeed use ion's ...

Really? I thought they were adaptations. But I haven't seen the GPP source for ages, guess I was mistaken :)

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb, 2006 12:36 am 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
I have heard that Jim e's is faster, you should follow that link that tr1p1ea provided.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb, 2006 6:00 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4095
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Jim e's is faster. His routine can mix the buffers and out in 73 cycles per byte iirc, Duck's is at 76. His sprite routines are faster/better as well. It also allows for more processing power for the application as the grayscale interrupt it syncronised (as best it can) with the lcd. This helps reduce flicker and enables grayscale at a much less tacing rate.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb, 2006 2:53 pm 
Offline
Calc Guru

Joined: Thu 27 Oct, 2005 8:28 pm
Posts: 962
now if only I can get it to compile in Latenite. Any help ben?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb, 2006 6:34 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
I did some pouring through the package ad noticed a couple of things. The only calls to ion routines in Ducks package are for the sprite routines. I have enough knowledge to write a sprite routine myself (and prolly should for the project) so I can live without his. That leaves the issue of not being able to use the interrupt routines too effectively.

One interesting note is that on all the calculators I tried it on, an interrupt frequency of 6 proved to not only be the fastest, but the best looking. Why the others are there baffles me...

What I need at this point is to get something simple, like a picture or something, up and running in ducks package. I will probably ask for help with the interrupt routine, as it uses a lot of jp and djnz commands and I don't know how to effectively handle these on code cpoying. If everything were relative jumps, I imagine the routine would work fine...

-gamefreak

PS: Does "Jim e" exist on these forums?

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb, 2006 9:21 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4095
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Jim e is a prominent member of these forums. I also suggest that you use his package as you will get more performance out of your calculator. Also if you use BRASS there are options to relocate code which should help with the routine relocation.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb, 2006 9:34 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
Jim e's code has been written to be faster and more accurate. It uses the built in crystal timers to update the LCD at the perfect time to achieve the maximum effect.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb, 2006 9:45 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
OK. And if I gather correctly, since it is a re-do of ducks routines, it should behave basically the same, right?

Where can I get said awesome package?

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb, 2006 10:04 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
Why, my signature points to the related website. This is more exact link.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006 1:45 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Darn darn darn darn darn stupid school filters... DARN!

For some odd reason, I can't convince our nice network admin that free hosts are not bad. As such, I cannot get anywhere near the file for the package. Could I get someone to e-mail it to me? (thegamefreak0134@yahoo.com) Thanks!

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006 2:17 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Liazon wrote:
now if only I can get it to compile in Latenite. Any help ben?
place a
Code:
#define TI83
at the top of your source file if you compile it for 83. GPP expects that, so it's not on ben's side. Duck made a batch file, which would include the define depending on which calculator you were writing for. If anybody would make a GrayScale template for LateNite, the problem would be away aswell I guess. ("#define TI83P" for a 83+ btw)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb, 2006 2:21 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
kv83 wrote:
Liazon wrote:
now if only I can get it to compile in Latenite. Any help ben?
place a
Code:
#define TI83
at the top of your source file if you compile it for 83. GPP expects that, so it's not on ben's side. Duck made a batch file, which would include the define depending on which calculator you were writing for. If anybody would make a GrayScale template for LateNite, the problem would be away aswell I guess. ("#define TI83P" for a 83+ btw)
No, it's my fault. It also breaks compatibility with the API.
The next release of Latenite should come with a fixed Brass template which does away with this problem :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt